My Hero, Once Again

Last week, while we were in Dallas, having repairs made on the Volvo trucks we were delivering to Compton, California and I told you someone had stolen my light bar.  I have a strong opinion it was a tow truck driver that did the stealing.

Light bar plug

This plug was neatly tucked into the bumper area of this truck.  There were no other things missing and no damage done to our equipment so I really do believe it was a tow truck driver that took the opportunity to save himself $650 and get a freebie.  Although the light bar had damage to it from the “lid flipping” incident it still worked.

Purchases from Truck Pro

I spent the time saying “What are we going to do?” while Joe was figuring out what supplies he was going to need from the Truck Pro across the street.  Tie wraps, a 7 pin adapter plug, lights, spools of wire, bungies.   Joe was in “Fix It Mode” while I did the whole “Chicken Little” dance…the sky is falling, the sky is falling.

Duck tape and screw driver

I keep a roll of duck tape with me.  There are times that I need it for outside mirrors that fall apart and need to be propped back up so I can see what I’m doing.  And it comes in handy at other times as well.  Joe got out his screwdriver, so armed with his purchases and our on hand supplies he got busy.

Attach lights to the grill with tie wraps

Joe mounted the lights on the grill of my back truck using tie wraps.

Duck tape as "butt connectors"

After cutting lengths of wire from the spools he had purchased, Joe used pieces of the duck tape to protect the joined wires from coming apart in our bouncing journey and keep them dry in the event of going through rain.

7 Pin Recepticle

Once Joe has all the wires attached he will be putting them in the necessary spots on this 7 Pin receptacle so I have turn signals and brake lights.

Inserting the wires

Inserting the wires in their proper holes, Joe is screwing them in tight to keep them from coming loose.

Wiring done

Now that all the wiring is done, and we have gone through the process of checking to make sure it is all wired up properly…checked the turn signals and brake lights…making some minor adjustments in the plug it is time to get it all mounted.

Road Ready

Ta-daaa.  Now I can get in my trucks and head for home and the spare light bar Joe has stashed in the shed.

The remainder of the California trip and on into this one from Salt Lake City, UT to Spartanburg, SC we are taking the light bars off at night and storing them safely away.  Keep temptation away from the thieves.

After stopping home and getting the light bar we stopped at the Coldiron Oklahoma City yard to have some work done on Joe’s front truck.  We met up with a fellow driver.  In the space of two months he had three (3) light bars stolen from him.  The last time, he says, there was a tow truck parked in the truck stop parking lot he was at.  When he got back from having his lunch inside the truck stop he found his light bar missing and the tow truck gone.  2 + 2 makes 5, I know, but there was nothing else that made any sense.

Okay, I’m done getting you all caught up on the craziness of my job.  Have to get myself in gear and take care of some things around here…..laundry and repacking….before we leave again tomorrow morning.  This time I will have to remember to pack a couple pairs of long pants for Joe and I.  The weather is cooling off considerably.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “My Hero, Once Again

  • Maureen Mathis

    What’s it like to sleep with MacGyver???

    Yes I had to google it to spell it correctly…….

    • Message In A Fold

      After 20 years, one would think, if there is a problem to be solved then Joe can be trusted to be the problem solver. He is very “MacGyver” like and has his skills tested time and again with me around.

      You make me laugh out loud!!!

  • Shelly

    Ha ha ha Maureen 🙂 you are indeed funny. I loved that show That MacGyver was one handy guy to have around and not bad on the eyes either 😉
    Happy to see your posts Leslie. Joe is a really talented Man being able to get all the mechanical problems in order in such a pinch I am very impressed.

    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Maureen, indeed, is hilarious!! ;o) Yes, MacGyver was mighty pleasing to the eyes.

      My Joe is truly a wonder. I don’t think there has been but a handful of things he has not been able to fix. Mostly because he does not have the proper tools – changing big rig tires on the side of the road for example. He never ceases to amaze me with how confident he is in situations. I’m blessed to have him.
      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    I’ve got my very own Hero, it is surprising what he can do with an elastic band and a piece of wire 🙂
    Well done Joe and I hope those sneaky thieves fingers drop off and may all their trips be rough ones.

    A cold spell is heading our way with a north easterly breeze making it feel decidedly cool. So Rod will be slipping into his sexy (not) long johns soon – thermal ones of course 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxxx

    • Message In A Fold

      Will Rod’s long johns be of the rear door flap type? lol 🙂 Winter is on its way.

      Handy men to have around for “damsels in distress”, right? I’d take a guy that can fix anything over a real looker any day. Course, I do happen to like the looks of my guy and that helps considerably 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

  • Nancy

    Hmmm…very interesting comments here: sleeping with McGyver, pleasing to the eyes, thermal underwear, rear door flaps, etc. What should I respond to? I know…I saw long johns mentioned. Now Tim Horton’s has some Long John Maple Dip Donuts that are particular favorites of mine! I could sure use one with a cup of coffee right about now! lol How’s that for a response! 🙂

Leave a Reply

