Waiting, and Waiting, and Waiting, and….

We spent from 8:30 this morning until 5:30 tonight at the Bruckner’s Mack/Volvo shop in Dallas.  Seems the parts they ordered yesterday didn’t get shipped.  Someone had to do a parts run to Fort Worth, Texas to get the necessary parts for my truck and that took all morning long.

Joe’s truck was looked at and they found his air dryer was in good shape.  It was the air lines in the cab under the dash that had been shoddily put together at the assembly plant.  The hoses didn’t match up and had cracked from the bouncing and shocks the truck has taken over the last couple years.  As of this writing (9:30 p.m. 10/1/10) Joe’s truck is still in the shop being worked on.  It should be finished before midnight tonight or early in the morning.  Maybe we can leave tomorrow and get this “show on the road”.

There were several other drivers in the lounge during the day with Joe and I.  Waiting for their trucks to be repaired.  Someone turned the television on and game shows played for the first part of the morning.  Family Feud took up about four of the half hour slots with one game right after another.  Then more of another game show called “Who Wants To Be A Milloionaire?”  Then there was an hour of Maury Povich.  This show, in my opinion, is just trash tv.  There is nothing in the way of a social redeeming quality to his show, nor is it educational by any stretch of the imagination.  These men were watching these shows.  I could not believe it.  They talked to each other as though they were long time viewers and were going down memory lane with a back and forth on which show was the most outrageous.

Someone turned the idiot box off around 3 p.m. and quiet reigned once again.

We are now ensconced in a nice hotel that has a hot tub.  Joe and I are going back and forth with “You want to go to the hot tub?”  He would like to go and soak his aching back in the hot water, then he says he is too tired to go.  We will probably ask each other this crazy question for another half hour and then when we decide to go we will find the hot tub has closed.  Just about how it nearly always works.  Someday one of us will decide that we want to go right away and not do this crazy back and forth thing we have going on.

We are shooting for being on the road before noon tomorrow.  My truck is finished, we are waiting on Joe’s to be done.  The trip is not even half over yet.  Will be make it?  Will we be leaving tomorrow?  Stay tuned….you will find out after this important announcement from our sponsors 🙂  Too much tv today.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Waiting, and Waiting, and Waiting, and….

  • Maureen Mathis

    Hope you guys don’t run into any of that UT/OU traffic! My daughter went up there with a group of friends today, and right now, she’s trying to figure out the roads to get where she’s supposed to go. It makes me wish I had given her a map – these kids rely on their I-phones too much – I think there is a LOT to be gained from looking at a map. You really get a sense of the big picture when you see a map, you know?!

    Hope you get out of town safely tomorrow! Hook ‘Em Horns! And even if we lose (which we will),I’ll be baking something yummy tomorrow for Joe to see! I can’t send it, because you guys won’t be home, and I don’t know your neighbor well enough to feed him. So THAT will have to wait! HMMMM, pumpkin bread maybe, or perhaps the old favorite oatmeal or chocolate chip cookies…….

    • Message In A Fold

      At least your daughter is traveling with friends. Hopefully she has a good “navigator” with her keeping track of the exits and turns on her iPhone. That thing does come in handy from time to time but it is so small and just a bit slower than a GPS. I’ve tried using it while I’m driving and that is NOT GOOD. Really takes your focus and attention off the road, so I’m hoping she is relying on someone to call out the exits and turns.

      Back when we were that age, we considered ourselves immortal and invincible. The freedom of making our own decisions was heady. I’ll keep your precious daughter in my prayers for her safety while she is here in Dallas for the game and on her way back home. Also your other two children and your husband as they go hunting will be in my prayers for their safe travels and return home.

      I will be waiting for the photo of your delicious creations to tease Joe with. Pumpkin bread sounds so good, or the oatmeal cookies, or the chocolate chip cookies…I’m getting hungry now :o)

  • Nancy

    Okay…so now it’s Maureen who is responsible for my drooling and tummy growls!! Honestly! I must start doing this more strategically! From now on, when I come to read your blog, I will do so with a full plate of snacks and a cup of coffee! ha Problem solved! 🙂
    Sounds like way too much tv! lol Hope you got up and got a good start! Be safe!
    Love & Prayers,
    Nancy

  • gardenpinks

    Yawwwwnnnnnn! How boring for you both sitting around whilst some crappy television programmes are on. I really do wonder where some people’s brains are when they watch infantile rubbish 🙂
    Hope you were both able to get going and all was well with the trucks. How about Joseph? Is he back on the road now?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxxx

Leave a Reply

