We’re Tearing Up The Highway

NOT!!!

We didn’t get out of the hotel this morning until after 11 a.m.  Waiting for the road service truck to arrive and fix my air leak problem.  The guy was really nice and didn’t charge me an arm and a leg either.

He had figured out how to get under the truck and get at the air dryer that was causing all the problems.  I talked with him a bit while he was under there then I gave that task to Joe while I went back to the room to get our stuff sorted and repacked so we could leave when he was done.

The man had to leave to get another part, when he returned and climbed back under the truck to fiddle with things again he had me turn the truck on.  That worried me a bit since he was underneath that monster and I don’t know what kinds of moving parts there are under there.  He wasn’t worried though so I got it started.  I watched as the air pressure gauge slowly rose, still concerned with him under the vehicle.  Not quite sure if I should leave the truck running to fill the air tanks or shut it off.  I carefully climbed down so as not to rock the truck and cause him to be harmed under there.  I bent over and hollered under the truck “Should I leave it on and let the air build or shut it off”?  Without me knowing, he had made his way out from under the truck and was standing behind me while I was bent over hollering at him.  He gave me a start when he said for me to just leave it on.  We both had a good laugh at that.

We made our way through the remainder of Georgia and on into Mississippi.  The air conditioning in Joe’s truck gave out and he was being cooled by his window rolled down.  Thankfully it was not an overly warm day today.  We stopped near Jackson, Mississippi to put in more fuel and the afternoon was gone, daylight would be fading fast.  Joe and I don’t like driving after dark with these crazy trucks.  No telling what can happen when you can’t see so why take the chance.

I talked with Joseph while Joe was putting air conditioner fluid in his truck.  The route Joseph had taken yesterday, the one we had originally intended taking, had been shut down for almost four hours due to a tractor/trailer that had rolled over and wrecked.  He had made it to Tupelo, Mississippi and stopped there for the night.  Today he got as far as Fort Smith, Arkansas before his air dryer gave out and he lost all his air.  He called to tell me I’m a “Jinx”.  I told him he was a “Copy Cat”.  Just because I was having fun didn’t mean he had to go and horn in.

We’ve been told by our dispatch office that we have to be in Dallas tomorrow and go to a Volvo dealership to have the air dryer on my truck properly taken care of.  Joseph has his in a Kenworth Shop in Fort Smith.  The road service guy this morning did a “by pass” on the air dryer and the people that are getting these trucks want it properly working before we deliver it.  So who knows how long we will be in Dallas tomorrow.

Today, we’ve driven a total of 224 miles.  Slacker!!!!  Our normal days are 450 to 550 miles, or at least as close to 400 as we can get with the road conditions and whatever else pops up.  Too many problems and such a late start really put a crimp in our making miles today.

Tomorrow is another day.  Here’s hoping there are no problems tomorrow and we get to Dallas without incident.

Lynn, here is the real information on Grits and Nachos.  Hope this answers your question.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “We’re Tearing Up The Highway

  • Shelly

    Never a dull moment for you is there 🙂 At least you and Joseph were not along the side of the road somewhere and you are all safe and sound. I really enjoyed your youtube postings but could not get the comment I left to post think I’m having brain freezes lol. The squash book was very well done thanks for sharing the her finished project she is quite and artist. Hope you have a better day tomorrow I;m off to check a few more things and then to bed.
    Take care and tell Joe Hello
    Many hugs,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you so much for telling me about the Versa Mark and Classic Inks. That was so fun to do and I really liked the way it came out. I’m going to try using some of the other ink colors I have and do this technique more….when I ever get home that is. 🙂

      I’m glad you got to see Carissa’s squash book card thing before she sent it to her friends. I’m so proud of her.

      Yes, off to bed with you. Get your rest so those nasty migraines will go away sooner.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    One of many things your job teaches you is that “You are NOT in control!” It must be so frustrating to be transporting trucks that are always in need of repair!

    • Message In A Fold

      I’m so glad you posted this comment. Now my weird “control freak” tendencies make more sense. I have no control out here on the road but I do have at home and I go overboard sometimes. Make so much sense since YOU said it. Frustrating is putting it mildly. Joe just lets it all roll off him and I get plum crazy with all the mishaps. Thanks to you I have a different way of looking at it, hopefully for only a short time longer 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

  • Nancy

    Oh boy! Just more and more!lol I sure do enjoy reading your postings! Good thing Joe is such an easy going fella! 🙂 I didn’t add you in there Leslie…I hope that’s okay? Am I right in thinking that he takes all this a bit more “in stride” than you do? Please correct me if I’m wrong…but I feel that there may be a bit more “venting” taking place on your end of things! 😉 Or has it all become routine for you as well? I would be “venticulating” over some of your experiences! Don’t ask me what it means…it just sounds right! haha
    I should have known better than to click on the “nachos” link when I’ve missed my lunch! They had some great pictures on there! lol I better go find some food! Safe travels to all! 🙂

    • Message In A Fold

      Too right about Joe being easy going and not including me. I’m a total SPAZZ when things begin going wonky. Not being mechanically inclined, nor having such a vast store of knowledge in my head as Joe has from all the different types of machinery he has either designed, built, overhauled, or tinkered with. A mechanical malfunction has the same effect on me as the dreaded Windows computer I’ve owned have had. My brain just locks up, shuts down, and refuses to work. That is when the spazz comes out. “What are we going to do?” Instead of just trusting Joe I have to weird out all over the place.

      “Venticulating” That is a great word and so descriptive. It ought to be in the Webster’s Dictionary. If they will include “Ginormous” then “Venticulate/ing” should be in there too. You have my vote.
      Love and prayers – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Many thanks for the lowdown on Nachos and Grits – now I know what to avoid 🙂 I am amazed how much food is cooked in oil/fried in the US. Here if anyone has chips(French fries) more than once per month you are considered to be of low intelligence, from a poor background and badly educated 🙂 The food police demand that frying pans be banned!! Not in our house – whatever would we do if we couldn’t have a fried egg now and again?
    Glad you found a handy man to sort out your leaking air; that must be a design fault for it to also happen to Joseph’s truck. Hope you are all sorted soon and can get those suckers delivered asap.
    How are things progressing with Pati and Les? Haven’t seen Pati comment on your blog since returning home. Hope all is well with them.
    I have added to my blog.

    Love and hugs
    xxxLynn

    • Message In A Fold

      OMG, we are swimming in an ocean of frying oil over here. Nearly everything is fried. When the powers that be took away lard and animal fats to fry with I nearly had a three year old tantrum fit. Nothing tastes as good as foods fried in bacon fat or just plain lard. No wonder we are all obese over here.

      Poor Joseph, he is still in Fort Smith, Arkansas. The part had to be ordered since it is not a stock item at the Kenworth place. You are correct, it is a design flaw in the air dryer. Joe’s is going out and, hopefully, will be replaced tomorrow. Pati and Les are doing well, thank you, and looking forward to getting back on the road. There will be more on that in the weeks to come.

      Love your new blog post. The butterflies are so beautiful and your Rod is quite the photographer!!!
      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

