Stamp That? blog

I’ve got it done….I think.  A separate blog for my Stampin’ Up! tutorials and sales pitches.

My first blog entry is here, so make a note (where ever you do that) to stop by and check on what I’m doing with Stampin’ Up! at http://www.messageinafold.wordpress.com

When I first became a demonstrator there were, and still are, hundreds of thousands of demonstrators.  Some of them have stirred things up with their overt practices of promoting non Stampin’ Up! items.

The literature I read given me by Stampin’ Up! declared that nearly all people that come to Stampin’ Up! have come from working in paper crafting and have items already in their homes they have used and love.  When the upset came last year it was because of quite a few demonstrators that, shall we say, played both sides against the middle – and had been for quite a long time.

There were blogs and videos all over the internet from demonstrators that would promote papers, punches, and other items from craft/hobby stores as well as their Stampin’ Up! products.  It got to the point that some of the demonstrators were bashing Stampin’ Up! products, or lack of product lines, and actively telling their audiences to go to such and such store or website to purchase a product.

I understand why Stampin’ Up! chose to take a stand as they did in this regard.  Demonstrators sales were being hurt by these other demonstrators.  Now, really, you and I both know that if you could purchase a 3/4 inch circle punch from your local craft store at $8.95 or purchase the same sized punch from Stampin’ Up! for $5.95 plus shipping and handling you would choose the craft/hobby store punch.  I would myself.  I can get the punch today, within the hour and begin using it that same day.  Not have to wait until a demonstrator put my order in and it be shipped, then wait for it to be delivered to my home.

The basic premise of Stampin’ Up! is a gathering of friends and like minded women to spend time together in a creative environment and learn a new technique, see a new product, and place an order for the convenience factor.  There are some people that have demanding jobs and family obligations that limit the time they can spend in a craft/hobby store so ordering in the comfort of their home or at a class is better for them.

My whole problem with the situation sprang from the fact that I had next to no Stampin’ Up! products to promote.  When I wanted to create something I have a plethora of papers, embellishments, and stuff to create anything I want, I just didn’t have the Stampin’ Up! products and I felt gagged and tied.  Feared that the Stampin’ Up! Police would be knocking at my door and take me to an overly brightly lit room and work me over with a rubber hose.  Now that won’t happen but I just did not feel right and I had a rebellious stripe a mile wide.

Over the past two years (nearly 2 years now) I’ve acquired quite a stash of products.  I’m at another wall though.  The papers I have in my stash  are out dated and are no longer sold.  Papers don’t matter though, it is the creative process and pushing the boundaries that inspire me.  I’ll use the older papers in my creations, purchase newer papers – so they can become obsolete – and go about my business.

Now, as if I don’t already have my nose in the computer or my iPhone enough, I’ve got two blogs to manage, a website to get updated later in October, four email accounts to keep track of and my crazy “Day Job”.  Oh, and I have another YouTube channel too.  It is “messageinafold” and will deal strictly with Stampin’ Up! stuff I’ve created.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Stamp That? blog

  • Lynn Claridge

    And in your spare time you will do what?? 🙂
    We have an old saying that if you want something done ask a busy person; the premise being that a busy person will soon get to grips with whatever whereas a not-so-busy person will do it sometime!
    I know full well that this is true because when I am up to my ears in work and am asked to add something else to the ever growing list I will get it done and out of the way pdq (with a great deal of swearing I might add) but when I have time to spare I am the best procrastinator around 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxxx

    • Message In A Fold

      Too right, girlfriend on that statement. I can procrastinate big time when I find I have nothing to do. That is when I end up getting myself in trouble and the wheels fall off the cart. I’m a person that requires structure to my days. No structure and I come apart at the seams. Then when I’m up to my arse in alligators I long for the time when there is nothing to do. Can’t be happy no matter what. Oh well, thank goodness this will settle down once I get home for the winter and can rein in all the stray stuff and get it going smoothly.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Nancy

    I’m excited for you about the new blog and youtube channel! I know I’ll enjoy the benefits of it! lol I signed up for the newsletter on your new blog because I can’t remember if I did it the last time I was there. I just joined a Stampin’ Up Splurge group here in town that my friend started. So I’m actually getting to see some of the Stampin’ Up products and play with them. I’m even getting out of the house and seeing REAL people! haha What a frightening thing for me! I won’t get into all that but I’m loving my new toys! I look forward to seeing you play with them over winter! 🙂

    • Message In A Fold

      How TOTALLY exciting for you. A Stampin’ Up Splurge group! Girlfriend, I’m so glad you are getting out….you don’t have to tell me how frightening that is because I have the same problem. I’m so glad you are getting to play with new toys. I love the work you do with your stash, most impressive!! Now you will have even more to play with and be able to get your, already awesome, talent tweaked. I get to check your blog and drool over your creations ;-D What fun!

Leave a Reply

