Take A Deep Breath

First thing this morning, while I was getting coffee ready, my phone began running over.

My sister, Pati, left a voice message. She sang Happy Birthday to me. Now I know how Nancy felt when we sang for her. Special. Loved it. Thank you Pati.

At the hotel we stayed at last night I had to park in front of Joe along the curb. Sort of blocked him in so I had to head for the highway first.

He wasn’t behind me and he wasn’t going to be either. The fuel tanks on these trucks had been tipped at installation making the suction tube higher than normal. Joe, in affect, ran out of gas.

Two miles later I found an exit to go back to Joe. He was moving as I got close to the exit where he was. “Go to the Flying J” I was told so I continued on the Interstate while he was making his way to the get on ramp for the highway.

Once again, no Joe in sight. Next I hear “Get to cans of lighter fluid and come back for me”. What? I asked why he wanted Lighter Fluid.

Starter Fluid is what he wanted. He had run out of gas again. This time blocking the whole road for any traffic wanting to get on the highway. To make things worse, a U-Haul truck pulling a car now has the local road totally blocked after going behind Joe and getting a bit of a surprise to their morning.

By the time I got back to Joe a police officer arrived and was directing traffic.

Joe worked his magic and we safely got to the Flying J for fuel to continue our trip.

Nancy. Thank you very much for your Birthday wishes to me. I appreciate you Girlfriend.

Between you and Pati this morning I can tie the grump to the passenger seat and tell her to shut up :-).

The grump is me.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

10 responses to “Take A Deep Breath

  • Nancy

    Oh no! You can’t be a grump on your birthday! haha Not even with circumstances such as those you have endured!! haha You just have to think…”Wow…It’s my birthday and aren’t I having fun so far? lol Just think what’s around the corner!” That’s all you can do, Leslie!! Live in anticipation of what’s to come! Can you just imagine the run that’s ahead! haha
    (Don’t you forget for a second that I’m not laughing at you…but with you, okay? You know I always look for the JOY in every situation! Somehow, it’s always there somewhere!) 🙂

  • Nancy

    Okay…don’t imagine the “run” that’s ahead! That would be a spelling error. It is supposed to read the “fun” that’s ahead! haha OH BOY!! Now carry on with your HAPPY Birthday!!

  • Indira

    Happy birthday to you, my very very dear friend. It’s my wish to you, that God bless you and all your family.

    • Message In A Fold

      I think I may be back in the good graces of this crazy computer.

      Indira, I really appreciate you and your friendship. Such an awesome birthday wish you sent me. Thank you very much. My best to you and your family. Love you – Leslie

  • Pati

    I am hoping you are having a good birthday today sis, and i was having soooo much fun singing you a happy birthday this morning.

    You had a hard startup getting things going this morning with your trucks, i hope the day went better, and i thank your friend for telling you happy birthday also, thanks nancy. You both be careful, sis and Joe. Love you both. Pati

    • Message In A Fold

      Thanks Sis, I adore you. Yes, I have some pretty awesome friends, and family. I am very thankful for what I have and I hope to be able to pass the love around to others, as well.

      Love you Sis & Les. You both take care.

  • shar

    HAAAAAAAAAAPPYYYYYYYYY BIIIIIIIIIRRRRRRRRRTHDAAAAAAAYYYYYYY

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Shar!! I thought I was not going to be able to tell you this. My computer decided to cough up a fur ball or something. Maybe it was just having a fit.

      I so appreciate you Shar. Thank you for your friendship, and the birthday wishes.
      Leslie

  • Shelly

    Happy Birthday Leslie 🙂

Leave a Reply

