A Birthday Like No Other

I’ve tried to post replies to the many birthday wishes I’ve received today, but for some reason I am having trouble doing so.

First, I want to thank each and every one of you that called, text messaged, and commented.  Pati for calling and singing this morning early and leaving your delightful message in my voice mail.  Nancy Nickel for your wonderful birthday wishes and your loving comment.  Heidi Jo for your sweet text message.  Frankie for singing to me.  Loreli for your funny text message.  Indira for your sweet message I could not read nor reply to but I felt your love and appreciate it.  Lynn for your sweet birthday wishes – and NO it was not late.  Shar I was delighted to see your very special wish to me that was awesome.  Shelly thank you for wishing me Happy Birthday. Carissa for calling and singing to me – you made your mother pleased to hear you singing and the hiccups were an added treat.  Tiffany and Clark I loved hearing Simon trying to keep up in the background that was totally awesome.  Karen at Coldiron – I totally forgot to thank you also for singing to me.  That was fantastic!

I am well and truly blessed by you all and I appreciate every one of you.

The adventures of this morning with Joe running out of gas – I know it is Diesel or Fuel, but it is still running out of gas – continued until after dark today.

Once we got Joe to the Flying J and fueled we were on our way to deliver these trucks in Salt Lake City, Utah.  183 miles to go and we would be delivered before noon then off to our next trip.

The Gods were smiling on my today.

After entering the state of Utah, we had to go to the Port of Entry and be weighed.  Usually it is just a bypass, we are weighed and sent on the highway.   Today I was told by the port officer “Happy Birthday” just before I was handed a Warning Ticket for being over weight on my towed trucks steer axles.  Joe, since it is NOT his birthday, got a $50 ticket for the same thing.  So for about 5 1/2 hours we were jockeying with the port officers to get things put to right so we could leave there.  Delivery is off until early tomorrow morning because of that fiasco.

We made it to our hotel room, got checked in, showered, and in clean clothes and decided to go across the street to the Red Iguana for dinner.  This place has been featured on Guy Fieri’s (however you spell his name) Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives show on the Food Network.  It is one busy place and the volume is on high with everyone enjoying the wonderful Mexican food.

Joe and I were not quite half way through our dinner when everyone in the restaurant was told to leave.  Salt Lake City Police were outside, blocking off the road for two blocks.  Shotguns, handguns, and assault rifles were quickly taken out of the trunks of cars.  There is a small hotel next door to the Red Iguana.  There was a major drug bust going on and we were not invited to the party.  One police officer came to the parking lot where all of us patrons were gathered and we were told we had to get in our cars and leave.  As Joe and I meandered across the street we were gruffly asked where we were going.  “To our hotel room” is what we answered.

Boy, am I ever glad I had 1/2 of a Strawberry Margarita before we were told to leave.  I’ve had way too much excitement for a birthday.

What happened here?  You guys all get together and throw me a “Surprise” party?  Well, it worked.  I was surprised.

Poor Joe, he is beside himself.  He feels like he has ruined my special day.  Well, let me tell you Honey Bunny.  There is no one in this whole entire world that can say they frantically drove around in circles to start the morning off, get a Warning Ticket and wished Happy Birthday by a port officer, then to top it off get thrown out of a very good eating establishment by the local constabulary.  PLUS get Happy Birthday wishes from the UK, Australia, the Dominican Republic, Canada, Kansas (two times), California, Arizona, Colorado, and Illinois.

I dare anyone to beat this Happy Birthday day!!!

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “A Birthday Like No Other

  • Shelly

    Wow what an exciting day you’ve had !! You really should write a book about Joe and your adventures, You sure have a way with words. Happy to hear you at least got half a margarita down( I’m a margarita kind of girl 🙂 ) I would have been a shame to have to leave the whole thing 😉

    Take care and have safe travels.
    Love and hugs,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Exciting is putting it mildly. I don’t drink alcohol because I think I’m allergic to it or I have an extremely low tolerance for it. Today, however, was a day when a “toddy for the body” was much in need.

      Thank you for your sweet comment. Some day I might think about a book. All in all, I don’t think a book about Joe and I would do very well. Maybe a book about our travels with snippets of the craziness that is our life tossed in would go over a bit better.

      How are your water heater issues coming? You and your family through the worst of it and back on track? Everyone is hale and hearty, no one got sick I hope. Did you lose much stuff? The things that got wet were salvageable?

      Love and hugs – Leslie

  • Nancy

    hahaha…Oh Leslie! I love it! That is one birthday you’ll always remember! lol 🙂

    • Message In A Fold

      I think you jinxed me! Not really. When you wrote about looking forward to the next “run” I thought – uh oh, this run needs to end, and soon. Hey, all is well.

      Yes, I’ll remember this birthday for a long time – you are correct. Just have to laugh and keep going 🙂

  • Lynn Claridge

    So glad my birthday wishes were not late Leslie. Poor you and Joe having roblems with running out of gas and then being oveweight! What a PITB and then to be chucked out of your eaterie just to finish things off well 🙂 Not a birthday you will forget in a hurry though. So nice for you to have so many birthday wishes from around the world but Leslie you are worth it and deserve to have so many friends because you are a big hearted lady.
    Hope your journey smooths out and no more problems.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Lynn, thank you. I appreciate you and your friendship. Reading some of the things you tell me about your life and the craziness that is my life, I wonder if there is a bit less than the “pond” that separates us. Good grief, girlfriend, you and I together would keep the town in stitches if we lived near one another.

      Yes, this birthday will be remembered more for the birthday wishes from far flung places than the mayhem of the day. Really warms the heart.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Pati

    Oh my goodness sis, i wanted you to have a good birthday, but not by the skin of your teeth.

    WOW!! Such goings on, i AM glad that you both are ok, i would NOT have wanted anything to have happened to you both.

    Well, at least your birthday was EXCITING! But maybe next year it will be boring, this was enough excitment to last a lifetime i would think.

    So glad that lots of people wished you happy birthday, i am very grateful for that.

    Thanks folks for wishing sis, leslie, a Happy Birthday, she deserves it, at least a sane happy birthday.

    love you sis. Pati

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Sis. Now, I hope that you don’t have any kind of notions that when you and Les begin going out with us that I will be drumming up excitement like this for the two of you! hahahaha.

      Love you

Leave a Reply

