Fortune Cookie Messages

Joe took me to a Chinese restaurant he likes in Ontario while we took a day off after we delivered in Fontana, California.  He tells me he is waiting for the cookie he opens one day with the message inside saying “Help.  I’m being held hostage in a Fortune Cookie Factory”.  He is still waiting for that one to appear.

However, our fortunes gave each of us a chuckle.  His read “Keep your goals away from the trolls” and mine read “Progress always involves risk”.

How would you like to be the person responsible for creating these gems of wisdom?  I wonder if the people go home with headaches after they spend a day at work.  Is there such a thing as computer generated fortunes?  I wonder what some of them would have to say when the computer gets a glitch.

I got in a bit of crafting on my own one day this weekend.  I’ve been racking my brains trying to figure out a way to show using a paper trimmer with the sliding blade.  I started out with one a long time ago until I saw a Tonic Studios guillotine trimmer – that I just had to have.

When I visited my Arizona daughter and did some crafting with her she has a sliding blade trimmer.  Some of the tricks I’ve learned from YouTube veterans and tried on my own I shared with Carissa.  I know she uses it as a basic trimmer.  The ideas were percolating in my head while I drove down the road.  Working out some of the details is going to require a bit of quiet time and some math 😦

While I had my crafting time I used a couple of standard tricks of the trimmer for Carissa and for my sister Pati.  To show them the versatility of the tool they own.  So I created a two part tutorial for a page in the absolutely WONDERFUL book Jann Saulsbury, of WhatYouMakeIt1, made for me.  You can see the first of the two parts of “Pocket Page” by clicking the link.

If you have one of these trimmers but do not have access to a Score Pal then you have a pretty good substitute.  Also, if you have one of these trimmers but don’t have a set of Nestabilities…with a bit of math and a couple hours you can cut out square frames in any width you would like.

These are just a couple of the ideas that were buzzing around in  my head as each mile of road passed beneath me.  When I get a bit more time I will do a video on both of these techniques with the portable paper trimmer.  Maybe some time this week if we stop by home on our way to O’Fallen, Missouri starting in Shafter, California.

If you have saved a fortune cookie snippet of wisdom and would like to share, leave a comment.  I’m all ears 🙂

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Fortune Cookie Messages

  • Maureen Mathis

    How about “Go out into the workforce and make your own!”

    • Message In A Fold

      You got one that said that? Make your own what? And your response to this was what? Did you laugh out loud or groan painfully? Sounds like a push in the direction of being self employed. So….did it inspire you to “make your own” job?

  • Lynn Claridge

    Enjoyed your videos as usual Leslie, I don’t have one of those trimmers – in fact I don’t have any trimmers – but still enjoyed the video all the same.Loved the page you did and the pocket you created 🙂

    Have never had a fortune cookie, I have lived such a sheltered life that I’ve never eaten Chinese or Indian food either as takeaway or at a restaurant so have not seen one of these – can’t wait!!

    Take care now
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      You mean the Chinese have not infiltrated England? Oh my goodness….There are gazillions of Chinese restaurants across our country. Joe and our son Joseph both have to have their food fixes frequently. I think there is an Indian food place in the town we live in but I’m not a big fan of lamb nor of HOT spicy food so we have not tried one of those places to eat. Maybe once you get your house sold and move you might experience a Chinese restaurant.

      Next time I’m home I plan on doing one project with three options – scissors, craft (exacto) knife, and the trimmer. By the time I get home I hope I have not forgotten my idea :-(.

      Love and hugs – Leslie

  • Lynn Claridge

    Oh yes Leslie plenty of Chinese restaurants and takeaway places here – although I can’t them being too pleased about delivering to us!!
    I like an occasional curry (homemade) but it mustn’t be very spicy or hot!! Our digestion systems change as we age – well for some of us – and now we suffer dreadfully from reflux and heartburn with anything too spicy – sigh! As a friend says old age doesn’t come on its own.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I had Thai food ONCE. Never again. Thought I was on fire during the meal and the next day was even worse….know what I mean, Jelly Bean? I can’t do hot stuff. Our Son-In-Law is Latin and he and his family can eat hot stuff like it were as tame as mashed potatoes. Makes my eyes water and my nose run just thinking of it.

      You know….you might ask the Chinese take away place if they have someone up for a “Challenge”. I bet they have to schlep stuff up three floors of stairs in some buildings so a “gentle walk” up a steep craggy hill might be the same as stairs. You think? 😉

      Old age, I’ve heard, is not for sissies. I don’t know much about it. My mind thinks it is still late 20’s early 30’s but my body grouses about it once in a while.

      Love and hugs
      Leslie

Leave a Reply

