Correction and More Foolishness

The Correction first.

In my post, here, titled “OMG!  We’re All Gonna Die” I had written about bees being transported by trucks.  If you read the post you will see where I had been told that the wayward bees will join other colonies or create their own colony.

I have it on very good authority that these bees will not become Queen Bees.  Here is the correct information from Lynn Claridge in the UK.

  • Those poor, poor bees being driven miles and miles no wonder they are dying from all sorts of ailments – the poor things are under stress. Leslie a lone worker bee can’t be a queen bee, now on this subject I have some knowledge as we keep bees and have had hives of bees for around 20 years now. In fact we were robbing them of their honey today!!
    If a queen bee dies off the hive becomes chaotic as the workers try to be queens but they haven’t been impregnated and are, to all intents and purposes, sterile so unless the workers can raise a queen the whole hive loses impetus and dies out

I thought I had remembered a smattering of that information from my biology class – back in the stone age.

I’m trying to finish what I started with that same post yesterday when my internet connection kept waxing and waning.

Blue Lights in the Bluegrass

The police cars in Kentucky, and in Arkansas, have revolving blue lights on their roofs instead of the alternating blue and red lights as other jurisdictions have.

I saw this lighted sign on Interstate 24 in Kentucky that stated “Blue Lights Across The Bluegrass”.  It made me think of the time Joe and I went into an IHOP in Arkansas one morning and I saw a police officer with three young recruits with him.  He was a man of about 40, a shaven head that was quite shiny, and his bearing was very authoritative.  He would be cordial to me but he wasn’t going to take any guff from me, or anyone else.

I had Joe at my back (my protection) and a burning question in my brain.  Now that is quite a dangerous combination there.  False bravado and some foolishness.

I have to do a bit of a back story here so you can understand what mayhem I nearly caused because of my mouth.

KMart, long long ago, used to have what they called a “Blue Light Special”.  It was a metal cart with a pole out the top.  On top of the pole was a revolving blue light.  Someone on the intercom would notify all the shoppers of a special on a particular item. To get this fantastic deal they would have to hurry over to the blue light at the designated aisle.   Usually there was a maximum amount for each person.  For example in the toothpaste aisle the blue light special would be for Crest Toothpaste – regularly $2.00 a tube and for the time of the special it would be sold for 75 cents – 3 tubes per person.

Okay, you understand what I’m saying.  When the light went out the deal was over and back to regular price.  You also have an idea of what I asked the police officer.

He and his party were at the register paying for their meal, Joe and I were waiting to be seated.  In a lull in their conversation I excused myself and asked “Have you ever been asked by someone you stopped “What’s the Blue Light Special?”

I probably would have been arrested right there and then if it hadn’t been for the quiet giggles from his recruits.  You want to talk about stink eye.  I got a big dose of it on that day.

Ohio River

This set of bridges is in Paducah (pronounced (with the “U” as in but) pu-doo-ka) Kentucky.  This is still on Interstate 24 and just a couple miles from the Kentucky/Illinois border.  There is a lot of barge traffic on this river.  None today though.

Metropolis, Illinois

At the border of Kentucky/Illinois on Interstate 24 sits this water tower.  Metropolis, Illinois is just a few miles from the highway.

I have heard that there is a museum dedicated to all things Superman in this little town.  We seem to be in trucks when we go this direction.  There are several roads at the exits in this section of the highway with big signs that do not welcome trucks on the business owners properties.  Gas stations, convenience stores, and other kinds of businesses have these signs.  Guess they have had their fill of truck drivers taking the wrong exit and having to turn around somewhere to get back on the highway.

Anyone in the Illinois area – or anywhere – that has been to Metropolis and went to the museum it would be interesting to know what it is all about.

Well, on to normal working stuff.  The wayward truck, from my last post, has been found.  New batteries were installed in all four trucks.  The yard guy returned from his trip to Indianapolis at 3:30 this afternoon and we all worked together to get the trucks running and hooked up.  Joe and I are nearly done.  A few finishing things to do in the morning and we will make a stop at home on our way to California.

I might not post anything tomorrow but I will be doing a bit of stuff when I get home for a day before we leave for California.  This trip is from Middletown, Ohio to Fontana, California.  Nearly 2,000 miles.

Everyone stay cool, those in rain – stay dry, and those in flooded areas my prayers are with you all.  Such crazy weather we are having.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Correction and More Foolishness

  • Maureen Mathis

    Glad to hear you’re back on the road, but sorry to know that it’s too late to take my advice. Poor Joe…..!

    • Message In A Fold

      Well, I have to think of it in this way. Each day that passes and I’m out on the road is one day closer to me being able to take the time off this winter. Always seems to be a trade off, and as far as jobs go this one is not too bad. Just long hours and the days run together. We’ll have a couple days off this coming weekend….at least we think that is what will happen. Things do have a habit of changing.

  • Lynn Claridge

    Hope I didn’t come across as a “know-it-all” there Leslie, that wasn’t my intention at all.
    Love those bridges, I have a ‘thing’ about bridges so enjoy seeing all the ones you are photographing. One day I am going to get a good photo and frame it!
    We have had a long dry spell and that is unusual for the UK as we can usually bank on it being more wet than sunny during the summer. Some areas are talking of having hosepipe bans to conserve water, our water butts are empty and, as we are on spring water, we have to use our water carefully and wisely so parts of our garden (yard)are feeling the effects of the drought. It was only three years ago that we had floods in our area! The weather seems to be doing it’s own thing lately and don’t think it has much to do with global warming.

    2,000 miles!! Ye gods Leslie you and Joe will be exhausted. You both take care now.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      No, no, no!!! And Double Times NO! I did not think you were a Know-It-All. You deal with the bees first hand. The man I talked to in Lebec, California could have been stringing me along with the Queen Bee thing. So I really appreciated your input on this and your personal knowledge.

      A like minded person as I am…global warming. Strange weather patterns all over the world. We are getting more rain here in Oklahoma than in several years. Flooding here in Oklahoma. Something that has not happened since we’ve lived here.

      This time the 2000 miles is not going to be so bad. Same trucks for the whole length. Nothing like we had in California in June.

      Love and hugs – Leslie

Leave a Reply

