Blogs I Want To Pass On

I’ve been trying to keep up with a couple blogs.  If anyone else has a blog then let me know and I’ll read it as I can and share it with others.

Desponia (I’m sure I’ve botched her name) of desponaki1 – one of my subscribers and winner of one of the last give away sponsored by Maureen and her generous donations.

Desponia is from Greece and her blog is written in Greek with a grey area translated into English.  While she and I have corresponded through YouTube messages I’ve learned a bit about her.  She lives on an island which requires a boat or ship ride to anywhere she wants to go off the island.  Her boyfriend is gone for long periods in his job.  I think he is a Captain on a ship, or something equally as important and time home with Desponia is not very often.

We might have to gang up on her and get her to share the work she does on YouTube.  A box Desponia has created is in her blog.  Beautiful box it is.  Lace, vintage picture, beautiful papers, a butterfly, and some flowers.  She gives “Blog Candy” every now and then.  Some of it is crocheted flowers she has made herself.

In one of her posts she has taken pictures of silk worms she has in a box and feeds them.  They were beginning to create a cocoon when I saw her blog last and as of last night I saw the cocoons are beginning to open and the silk worms are becoming butterflies.

Here is a link to Desponia’s blog.  Remember, the English translation is lower in her posts in grey boxes.  One time I told  her that when I don’t understand something I say “It’s all Greek to me”.  She said they have a similar saying only it is “It’s all Chinese to me”.  How funny that is.

Nancy Nickle of Nicklenook1 has a blog that I check out every  now and again when I have the time.

Nancy lives way up north in Saskatchewan, Canada.  She and her husband celebrated their 25th Anniversary.  Yay Nancy.  That is a long time to hang with someone.  Wait…I’m going on 20 years this August and it seems not quite that long.  Makes a difference when you are married to the right person.  Ask me I know!

Nancy does Scripture Challenges and is in the midst of making 6×6 pages for her challenges.  They are quite beautiful.  Who would have ever thought that bible verses could come alive!  Nancy has an awesome way of interpreting her spin on the verses that speak to her.  She gives a list of the products she has used at the bottom of each picture she has attached to her blog.

She has been really busy lately.  Company coming and going, she lost her Father a few years back and just recently lost her Father-In-Law early this year.  Nancy’s husband has had the daunting task of getting his Father’s farm ready for auction.  That must have been an emotional chore.  To handle things his Father used and taught him how they work.  Remembering his Father working with tools or equipment, each thing would have a smell or memory attached.  How do you let some things go?  How do you choose?

Nancy has seen her two daughters graduate from school recently and been busy with those preparations.  One time these little girls were in her arms now they are grown and no longer fit in laps.  I know that feeling very well.  Pride in the adults they have become, fearful of the choices they make and the hurts before them, desperately wanting to make their paths in life easier but knowing full well you can’t and the children would resent the interference.

You can check out Nancy’s blog here.  After you see her couple of Scripture Challenges, scroll down and see the two page layout she created by making Converse High Top sneakers.  I tell you, that girl has got a lot of talent going on here.  We’ll have to work on getting her to put up a YouTube video on some of her outstanding stuff also.

Feeling pressured girls?  Well don’t.  I’m just glad that we can see the things you create.

I’ve got to check on FRAPMGP – Indira.  She lives in the Dominican Republic and has a couple of young children.  She sent me a link to her blog but I had such difficulty in trying to access it that I’m afraid I may have not got the address right.  So Indira, if you are still out there then send me a link to your blog and I’ll try it again.

I need to get at things for YouTube.  Unfortunately not crafting related but I have to dabble where I can for now.  I also need to get some pictures ready for my blog here that I’ve taken recently on our travels.  Get a bit of laundry done in between and some other chores.  Like they say “No rest for the weary”.  I fear that if I really did stop I’d just veg out and nothing would get done so I have to keep pushing along.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Blogs I Want To Pass On

  • Lynn Claridge

    Home at last Leslie! So much to do and so little time to do it all in but hope you have checked your post/mail.
    Looking forward to seeing all your photos and loved the story about your daughter’s friends and making the engagement squash book – hat must have been the longest ‘engagement’ ever!! Hope the friends will be happily married for many years to come.

    We either say “It’s all Greek to me” or “It’s double Dutch”!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn x

    • Message In A Fold

      Joe has been informed that today and tomorrow I’m not going anywhere. If he needs to run errands or just drive around town aimlessly leave me out of it. He can take the scooter or our car. He says “You want to go with me?” I told him “You are most definitely cruising for a bruising”. He just chuckles at me.

      I got your envelope. I LOVE WHAT YOU DID!!!! Thank you so much. I will get a video up on it. I want to share it. Thank you. It is TOTALLY awesome!!!
      Love you
      Leslie

  • Indira

    Of course I’m here. I told you I’ll follow you on your journey, maybe I not comment always your post, but be sure I read everything you post and I sent you some mail. So, about my block, it’s http://www.craftyhomemade.blogspot.com/, well take care, hugs.

    • Message In A Fold

      Awesome blog!!! I love your cards. I’ll get your blog linked in my next post. Sorry I have not been in touch with you in such a long time. Now that I have your blog address then I can stay in touch with you.

      You do really amazing Cricut work. Love your stuff!!!
      Hugs, Leslie

Leave a Reply

