Santa Monica Pier

I have a lot of pictures from our few hours spent on Santa Monica Pier while we were in California for some down time.

I’m trying to figure out if I should just put the pictures up with not much commentary or if I should make this an extremely long post and natter on about our time there.  Maybe I’ll find a happy medium and do a bit of both.

Santa Monica Pier

Ferris Wheel

Roller Coaster

Maps for sale

Arcade on the pier

Have $6 to burn?

Watch them fly

Surf, sand, and fun

One of the artist venders

His "Spidey" sense knew I had a camera

Singing for his supper

Poitrait artist

Smoking area

Fishing from the pier

Cutting bait

Joe with his 4 by 5 film camera

Barnacle encrusted pier posts

View from the pier

I-10 the Transcontinental Highway

Our day at Santa Monica Pier was a pleasant one.  Travel there was not pleasant.  It took us almost 3 hours to go 60 miles because of all the traffic and another 3 hours to get back to the hotel room.

Being out in the fresh air and walking in the balmy 68 degree air made me sleepy by the time we got back to the room.  I was ready for a nap before going to bed.

There is so much to see at the pier.  Artists of all kinds:  Oil, chalk, clay, and music are abundant.  Fisher people sit quietly with their poles and wait for their days catch.  We saw a lot of fisher people but not anyone that caught fish.  People were every where.  On the sand below and playing in the water, up on the pier and seeing the sights, others were on the other side of the pier on the Ferris Wheel or the roller coaster.

We stopped many times to help people get pictures of their day at the pier.  Usually we saw a man taking a picture of a woman against the rail with the sea as a back drop.  Joe offered to take their picture together and they handed the cameras over to him each time.  Of course, Joe being Joe, he had to say “I get so many cameras this way”.  The disconcerted half giggle he gets as a response was funny.  One asian man thought Joe was a professional photographer because of the camera he carried around.  He wanted his picture taken with his digital camera and Joe helped him do that.  The man instructed Joe on where he would be standing, how much of himself he wanted in the photo and how much of the ocean horizon he wanted Joe to get.  My Joe obliged the man and took a couple shots.  The man was grateful and quite wordy in his thanks which was nice.

A place like this, with tons of people walking around you or milling around in groups, is so strange.  You are part of a larger mass but you are still separate from the group.  No one tried to run anyone down so it was a pleasant time being in a crowded area.

The attire of the group ranged from shorts and shirts/blouses, to swim wear covered by gauzy fabrics.  One girl had on fishnet stockings, cowboy boots, a short and very expensive spaghetti strap evening dress with a t-shirt beneath and a straw hat on her head.  To each their own I say.  We saw one young man in denim jeans with some kind of long scarves tied to his belt loops on the sides of his pants.  Looked like he had flags flying at his sides.

This is a tourist place and you can get all manner of things to commemorate your visit.  Lots of money changes hands here and I did not see credit card readers at anything other than the food court.

Parking can be a chore.  If you drive around long enough you will find a parking area that is near the beach.  We parked in the main lot.  It cost $8 for the day.  Some parking areas are $7 for two hours.  There were buses people spilled out of in their beach wear for their days excursions then they had to trek back through the parking lot at the very end to get the bus to go back home.  Don’t know where the buses come from or how you get on them or the cost but I’m sure there is some information somewhere about Santa Monica Pier excursions.

Houses in the area are nearly next to each other with very little space between each home.  It reminded me of Miami and Ft. Lauderdale with the beach homes there.  I bet it is pricey living there.

On our way back to the hotel I saw a sign that said I-10 is the Christopher Columbus Transcontinental Highway.  Joe told me that I-10 runs from Jacksonville, Florida all the way across and ends in Santa Monica, California.  He wanted me to put it in perspective for you.  One winter he had a run from Jacksonville, Florida to Laredo, Texas.  By the time he traveled through Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, and into Texas he was only half way through his trip.  I can at least claim that over the past nine years I’ve been driving I have now been from one end of I-10 to the other.

We had a good day at the Santa Monica Pier.  Should you think about making a trip to a beach area for a day of fun this would be a good place to do it.  Quite enjoyable it was.

Today, I am dragging my feet and holding up the works.  Joe is trying, unsuccessfully, to get me out of the hotel and back to work.  We have one truck to pick up in Fontana, California – just a few miles from where we are staying.  The other three trucks are in Las Vegas, Nevada and all four of them are bound for Oklahoma City.  Sounds to me like it will be “Hi house, bye house” and then off to other parts of the country.  BUT Thank God that mess in Red Bluff to Pomona is DONE!!!

Everyone have a great weekend.  The 4th of July is coming up and a long weekend ahead for many of you.  At least here in the States it is.  I’ll let you know what is happening here on my end.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

3 responses to “Santa Monica Pier

  • Maureen Mathis

    Wow, what a trip you have had. I’m glad you are headed home, but sad to hear that you are turning right around to another job. Work is much better than no work, though, so I’ll try to not complain very much. I really enjoy your blog, and now have a newfound respect for many of the truck drivers out there. It is really tough work, and most of those guys aren’t lucky enough to have a bride like you that works alongside them like you do. You’re awesome!

    • Message In A Fold

      Yes, work is better than no work. We had to go to North Las Vegas, Nevada to get our trucks out of the west and head back to home. I was stunned. 200,000 people out of work in Las Vegas!!!!! Most of them have been out of work for months and now they can’t move because they can’t afford to.

      Thank you for your kind words. My poor husband. He might beg to differ with you right now. I’m so ready for home and our own bed and not going any place for the next couple days. I’ve been down right bitchy and bordering on mean. We both really need some sleep and some recuperation time before we go off again.

      Love you Big Sis.

  • Lynn Claridge

    Hi Leslie
    Have been busy and having broadband trouble so haven’t been around much.
    What lovely photos and it seems that you both had chance to unwind and recharge those batteries.
    Are you still making your way to Oklahoma or have you ‘been there, done that’ yet? Sorry just don’t have a clue about your mileage on this route.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

Leave a Reply

