Marston’s Restaurant, Pasadena, California

In our travels we kind of “luck” into places that are local favorites and this is one of them.  Joe found this place while he was on his own over the winter.  He had gone to Sammy’s Camera Shop in Pasadena, leaving there he was looking for a place to eat breakfast and found this little jewel and wanted me to experience this little place.

You can check out their website.  Marston’s Restaurant located at 151 East Walnut, Pasadena, California.  The building looks to be an older home converted to a restaurant.  By the signage there is a law firm and a bail bond office nearby.  Parking is on the street or in the very small parking lot adjacent to the building.  This place is busy for breakfast and lunch.

Mayre, our server

This is Mayre (pronounced Mary).  She has worked at this establishment for 25 years and through three changes of owners – that we could surmise – in her tenure.

She knew many of the people that came in for lunch.  Greeted them by name and asked about their families.  Some guests got hugs from her while others spent a bit of time catching her up on the happenings of their families.  A mother and her teen daughter talked to Mayre about the soccer game the daughter was in and the accomplishments of the team.

One man came in to dine alone and he was asked where his companion was.  From some of the conversation I overheard she was not well and would not be coming in for a time.  Mayre commiserated with him for a few minutes then left him to his solitude.  She checked on him frequently and they conversed a bit every now and again.

Cheddar and herb popover rolls

French Onion soup

Beef sandwich with sauted onions and mushrooms on swiss

The local diners had the salads, which looked scrumptious.  Joe and I decided to have the lunch special which consisted of a beef sandwich, much like a Philly Cheese Steak.  Delicious it was.  The soup of the day was French Onion.  Joe loves this type of soup and orders it anywhere he can.  Mostly it is horrid stuff.  Heavy on the Lee & Perrin’s Worchestershire sauce, or loaded with salt.  I had a bit of a taste of this soup and it was wonderful.  By the time I thought to get pictures of our lunch it was almost too late.  The rolls Mayre brought are made from a croissant or pop over dough.  Crisp and crunchy on the outside but an airy pocket in the center.  Cheddar cheese had been baked on the top of the roll and it was crispy.  Some kind of herbs were in the bread dough and it was delightful.  I almost asked for more but I had a sandwich coming so I let it pass.  Our sandwiches were wonderful and way too much to eat.

Oh my goodness.  I forgot to take a picture of the bread pudding we had for dessert!!!  When Mayre brought it to our table I was totally consumed with the smell emanating from the bowl she sat between us.  Custard, honest to goodness egg custard, filled the bowl with pieces of a sweet roll mixed in.  This bread pudding was not like anything I had ever had before.  I was tempted to stop Joe from getting his spoon in the bowl but I contained myself so he could enjoy this wonderful treat.

Between the excellent food and Mayre’s service I have decided this place would be one we return to and I would recommend heartily to anyone interested in a meal from an unexpected spot.

Palm tree

This tree is across the street from Marston’s.

When Joe and I arrived breakfast had just finished and the restaurant was closed from 11:00 a.m to 11:30 a.m.  He put his name on a list for a table for us when they reopened for lunch.

While we waited, along with several other people seated in chairs out on the sidewalk for their comfort, I looked around the area just to see what was there.  When I looked across the street at some apartments that take up an entire block of the neighborhood I spotted this tree and thought it was unusual enough for me to get a picture of it.

Even misshapen and bent this tree had character and beauty of its own.

Pasadena City Hall

When we left Marston’s and were heading to Santa Monica Pier, Joe took a side trip down a couple streets I don’t have a clue where he went and he came to this building.

Again, while he was on his own over the winter on a quiet Sunday he found this City Hall building and took pictures with his film camera.  Beautiful pictures they are also.  He was out in the middle of the street with his monopod getting the best view and angle of this very old and ornate building.

I’ll have photos and commentary of our time at Santa Monica Pier later.  This one I thought deserved a place of its own.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

Leave a Reply

