I’ve Been Bit and Shot

How’s that for a bit of drama?

By this afternoon we will have delivered 16 of these Walmart trucks. Another week of this and we will finish this mess.

Joe is beside himself and almost frantic. Something bit me and I’m not sure when it happened.

My right eye had a bite on the eyebrow. Joe took a picture of it last Sunday. When I woke up this morning my right eye was swollen nearly closed.

I’ve been self medicating with Benadryl since last Sunday. Upon seeing my eye this morning Joe has been adamant that I see a doctor. I’m not dying just yet so I don’t see the need.

After we delivered these trucks Joe found a clinic to take me to so I went in. I guess as soon as I get some drugs to counter act the insect bite then he’ll be happier.

I love my job, I love my job, I love my job.

For the want of a rubber hose. Dear God!!! The doctor told me I needed a shot for the MRSA bacteria that is rampant. You never know where those wee beasties have had their fangs.

I HATE shots!! I have a needle phobia. The sight of a syringe puts me in panic mode. All I wanted to do was run.

Joe, on the other hand, was asking the medical staff if he could take PICTURES.

Okay. I had my “Big Girl” panties on and I dropped the top of one side so I could expose a hip. The medical staff were not much help to me. The guy that shot me said it wouldn’t hurt. Of course not. HE wasn’t the one getting the shot so he was not going to feel a thing!!!

Joe, ever the supportive husband, said “Will I be in your way here?” as he lined up his iPhone camera to get it all. Drat and double drat.

Okay, so now properly drugged, prescription filled, and the shot is a distant memory I am ready for bed.

Everyone have a great night. Sleep well and stay safe. Until later….

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

10 responses to “I’ve Been Bit and Shot

  • shar

    OMG!!1 I hope your alright. poor you!!! please take care of yourself and tell your good man to pamper you tonight.

    hugs and well wishes to you all
    shar

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Shar. I told him you said he was to pamper me tonight. So that is getting to the hotel early and one with a hot tub. That ought to soak and sweat out whatever is ailing me, you think?

      Hugs to you and your family.
      Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    Glad you took the shot! You’d just faint if you saw the hole they’d have to dig in your eyebrow and fill with packing material to soak up all the pus you’d develop if you developed an abscess. I’ve helped my mom care for an MRSA abscess like that, and it ain’t pretty! Today is a new day, which will look much brighter seen with two eyes, rather than only one, because the other one is swollen shut.

    ….on the other hand, the eye that is swollen looks much less wrinkled, don’t cha think?! Gotta look on the bright side, sis!

    • Message In A Fold

      I’ve seen pictures of MRSA infections. Yucky!!! Not a pretty sight at all. And I can imagine the odor is a bit off putting too.

      You are correct. I have sight in both eyes and one is less wrinkled than the other. This is the worst reaction I’ve had from spider bites. I get a dose of them every spring and early summer. Sure thought I’d have built up an immunity from the buggers. This one must have had a bit more juice than the others have had.

      Thanks Sis – Love you.

  • Shelly

    Oh Leslie you poor woman 🙂 I’m glad you let Joe talk you into being seen by a Dr. You can never be to careful with the crazy insect bites My brother caught the west nile virus from a mosquito bite so you be watchful if you get alot of flu like symptoms plus so close to your eye tisk tisk take care of yourself 🙂 Ok enough of my Mommy mode kicking in Just would hate to see you sick. I have to agree with you of course it won’t hurt them….. what!!! Serously hope the time goes quickly for you to get finished with this assignment. Let us know how you’re feeling I will keep you and Joe in my prayers for continued safety in your travels. Take care.

    Love,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      There wasn’t much of letting Joe talk me into seeing the doctor. I was going to be dragged kicking and screaming all the way. He was dead serious about it. When he sets his jaw a certain way then I know there is no budging him and the best is just go with the flow.

      Thank you for your “Mommy Mode” I appreciate it. I don’t get sick, mainly because we are exposed to so much crud in these trucks our immune systems have been enhanced over the years. Neither of us have had the flu virus going around and we don’t get the colds three times a year as we used to. Thank God for those favors, I say.

      Just another week and this mess should be done. The end is in sight. If things remain the same at Walmart in Red Bluff we might be done sooner than expected. The trucks are all not ready yet and we may not reach the auction deadline if we dawdle with Walmart for long.
      Love,
      Leslie

  • Indira

    Oh God, I hope you’re ok now. I can’t imaging all the work you have. Good night,

    INdira

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Indira. This is the first chance I’ve had to connect this computer and take a look at what is going on. Hope you and your family are all well.

      I’m finally better. Only have a big scab on my eyebrow now. Healing process is working, the drugs did their work, and I’m full of antibiotics with a sulphur drug kicker. Man what a crazy reaction I had to this bite. I’ll keep in better touch over the next few days. Finally going to get some much needed time off.

      You take care.

  • Lynn Claridge

    Did you say a spider bite Leslie?????? Ooooh just hate spiders, man! A spider would not be allowed within a foot of the bed. Yuk!
    Mosquito and gnat bites can have that effect on some people, those pesky biters ought to keep their fangs to themselves.
    DO hope the needle helps and the eye soon clears up Leslie.
    Another US/UK difference – if someone here had said they had had a shot we’d expect a bullet hole!! Here we have injections or vaccinations!

    Will be starting part 3 email soon, when my broadband has settled down- am being kicked off a lot lately.
    Love, hugs and thoughts to you both xxxxxx

    • Message In A Fold

      Funny how the same basic language can have different meanings for the same words. And yes, we also think of shot and bullet in the same terms as you do. I did think I had a bullet in my hip for a few days. So much drama. I did get your most recent email and I have to say that you can make me laugh. Right now I am in desperate need of some laughter. Your email was much appreciated.

      I’m better, healing well, and look more like my regular self so things are good. I’ll have more time in the next few days to contact you and the others that have sent me notes. Get, sort of, back in my world and out of this one for a day or two anyway.

      Love you

Leave a Reply

