Round 3 In California

This morning we delivered our second set of 4 trucks.  We are on our way back up to Red Bluff for the third set and will be delivering them on Saturday.  We still have one full set of 4 trucks and one final set of 2 to be delivered by June 9th.  At this rate we will make it in time….I hope.   We are nearly half finished.

We’ve been stopping early so I can get my blog caught up on and get my YouTube subscriptions updated, sort of check my email.  I’m having a terrible time with the Windows laptop.  It won’t do what I want it to do.  When it does it takes such a long time and the *(&% thing locks up on me so I feel like I’m just wasting my time.

We had a Windows laptop in 2002 that I used for a couple years.  One night that all ended.  We stayed at a Days Inn in San Antonio, Texas.  The next morning everything was gone out of the truck.  Joe had been talking about getting a Mac for a while and I was a bit reluctant to do so.  Not as many programs run on Macs as does on Windows so I thought we would just be throwing money away and I was not all in for that.

Well…this  Windows laptop is a refurbished one we bought from our neighbor who works on computers.  Buys them at yard sales and tinkers with them until they are running in good order then sells them.

I should be happy that I do have access to the outside world with this machine and can try to keep in touch with everyone I need to.  But I’m having so much trouble with this crazy machine that I just don’t really want to use it.

I’ve been spoiled by my first Mac in late 2002 and Windows is just not my idea of efficiency.  Wish I could take my Mac desktop with me and I’d be happy.  Maybe by the end of this year I will be able to afford a Mac laptop and chuck this thing.  Until then I’ll plod along and do what I can.

I’ve been having trouble getting photos off my iPhone and into this crazy machine to share with you the sights of California as I see them on I-5 in our trips.  I’ll get it figured out before long and you will have them.

Flower

I have no idea what kind of flower this is.  We went to an Olive Garden outside Pomona on our way to Red Bluff last Monday.

Now that I’m getting more into flowers in my paper crafting I thought this would be a fairly easy one to duplicate with the Ornament Punch from Stampin’ Up.  6 of the punches, maybe with a 1-1/2 inch circle punch as the back to secure three of the Ornament punch outs then three more on top of them.  Maybe a button or a smaller flower could be placed in the center where this flower has a petaled center.  Looks like the bits of color are a purple – maybe Elegant Eggplant, and the yellow/orange could be Pumpkin Pie?

The flower itself is a creamy white with the dots of purple and yellow/orange.  If anyone wants to experiment with making this flower then do so and let me know what you did.

I suppose just about any color could be used to make this flower, and maybe any ink color combination would work also.  I just thought this was so pretty.

Joe, although I badger him at times, is the best husband a girl could want.   He noticed that I was no longer next to him as we were walking to the pickup.  He turned around and watched me trying to get this picture – of the flower.  He said “Come around on this side to get the light better”.  Now any other man would have berated me and told me I was messing up our schedule and we don’t have time for me to stop and take pictures of every flower I see.

I’m so thankful for my husband – Slave Driver and all.

We will be in California longer than we had anticipated.  We will be take three days off after we deliver the last two trucks to the auction site.  I still don’t know what scrapbook store I’m going to try to do my next interview with.  I can’t make any plans that far in advance right now.

Our dispatcher called Joe to let him know the Walmart in Red Bluff has released another 13 trucks and would we do them.  We can still take our days off but then have to get back to work.  So it looks like we will be here in California for the better part of this month.

I’m trying to stay in touch with my Sister as best as I can during this time.  She and her husband are working on some things that will involve Joe and I and we need to be somewhere near Tribune, Kansas when the time comes.  Sometime near the end of June or after the first of July.

We have a little over 200 miles to travel tomorrow morning to get to Red Bluff and get the next set of trucks going to Pomona.  That will come to a count of 12 of the 18 due in Pomona by the 9th.  We will be at the pick up site fairly early tomorrow morning and we will head back down to Pomona tomorrow then deliver on Saturday.

So, it is time to get to bed so we can get up early in the morning.  Sometimes this two hour difference works to our advantage…most of the time it just throws me off.  It is after 10 p.m. our time (Central) and it is still light outside here which is just after 8 p.m.  When we leave at 6 a.m. tomorrow it will be 4 a.m. here.  That is when it works in our favor.

Okay, I’m just babbling now.  It is definitely time for bed, so good night all.  Everyone rest well, be safe, and have a great day tomorrow.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Round 3 In California

  • Maureen Mathis

    I love keeping up with you like this. A few thoughts: 1.I need to send you a link to a great video on You Tube about technology when I get a chance. some comic on Conan. hilarious. 2. You are beginning to exhibit early signs of craft withdrawal – seeing a beautiful flower in nature, and bypassing the simple enjoyment of it all to analyze the best punched shapes to re-create it in paper. Too funny! 3. Your husband is a saint. 4. Your husband is a saint. 5. The next scrapbook store owner you interview will be blessed by your presence. 6. You lost that last laptop in San Antonio because you weren’t staying at my house in San Marcos. 7. Your husband is a saint. 8. You will never know how completely and totally you are loved by those around you. 9. I’m proud to be your Big Sis.

    Love you,

    Maureen

    • Message In A Fold

      Maureen…you are so correct. My husband is a SAINT!!! He puts up with me and keeps right on going. I showed him your comment and he said “What’s this? Now why am I a saint?” I had him go read my post that prompted your comment and he just chuckled when he read about telling me to stand in a different place to get better light. I do agree with you….I need a paper crafting FIX in the worst way. I’m so looking forward to our few days off.

      Indeed, Maureen, I am blessed to have a Big Sis like you and I’m proud to call you my friend also. Thanks for giving my husband a much needed giggle and a boost to his ego. He’s so funny.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Shelly

    Hi Leslie 🙂
    Glad to hear that all is working out with your work assignments that has got to be a big relief. Hope that both you and Joe have a fun and restful few days off all that traveling can really take a toll on ya.
    Now I just love the way your mind works so like myself (tee hee) I love the ornament punch flower Idea, I too see most everything in stampin up color 🙂 Guess great minds think alike. I don’t have that punch so can’t give it a try for you. Maybe that will have to be on my next club order? Thanks for keeping us updated on the awesome adventures of Joe and Leslie truck movers extraordinaire 🙂
    Wishing you safe and blessed travels
    love,
    Shelly
    P.S. I’ll let you know when I get my video posted

    • Message In A Fold

      I am so itching to get into the Emergency Kit that Jann made for me. I need a FIX!!!! In the worst way!!!

      You are funny – “truck movers extraordinaire”. I’ll be watching for your video. That will be fun. One thing to keep in mind, the best thing about our little community here on YouTube is that everyone is very supportive and appreciative. You will be your own worst critic. So keep the self “trash talk” to a minimum and just go with it.

      That flower was so pretty. I knew if I plucked it then it would just wither away so a photo would be better. But to recreate it in paper would be the next best thing. And Stampin’ Up! colors are all I could think of since I really don’t have much of anything else to go by. Have fun at your next club meeting.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

