I-40 Through Arizona

Arizona/New Mexico Border

This huge wall of rock that rises in the air has several caves. I couldn’t get pictures of the opposite side of the highway on the New Mexico side. My hand would not cooperate.

I’m told that all of New Mexico and Arizona was under water at one time. Must have been during Noah’s time. The winds that blow here in the open desert could have sand blasted the cave like openings long long ago.

Truck stop

Depending on which way you are headed in Arizona, this is the first truck stop you come to in Arizona or the last one on the way to New Mexico.

A lot of touristy things are sold here also, as well as another place to find Native American arts.

Rock wall

This is the last, or the first, rock wall in this range of whatever it is called at the Arizona/New Mexico border. Where the light post stands is the end of highway access from a rest area nestled amongst this massive rock.

After this the landscape of Arizona is pretty much similar to New Mexico until you get up near Flagstaff and in the mountains. The smell of pine is wonderful. A truck stop, hotel, and convention center is Holding’s Little America in Flagstaff. We stop there when we go through and get out and walk for a while. The creaking of the old pine trees, the sound of dead pine needles crunching beneath your feet, rustles of small wild life scurrying away from the paths, and the quiet is something I really enjoy when we stop at Little America.

When our dog was with us she and I would follow the paths worn into dust through the trees. She in search of ground squirrels and chipmunks while I was in search of getting my frayed nerves settled down.

Leaving Little America in Flagstaff, Arizona

At Flagstaff I-40 divides off in three different ways. I-17 that leads to Phoenix, US-89 that leads to the Grand Canyon, and I-40 continues on westward to California.

We are staying on I-40 to the end in California where it meets with I-15 at Barstow.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

2 responses to “I-40 Through Arizona

  • Shelly

    Very pretty photos Leslie. I am really enjoying all your scenery updates. Love the other post with the big chair photo made me think of Alice in wonderland. Hope you are doing well. Take care and wishing you safe travels.

    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Shelly. I will have more photos of California – probably next week – when we are no longer in such a flaming mad dash hurry to get these trucks done. That chair at the Big Texan is something else. You could get all your kids in that thing at one time.

Leave a Reply

