I-40 West to Amarillo, Texas

Leaving Oklahoma with plenty of trees and grassy pastures we enter Texas where trees are found near water. Pasture land is forever, seemingly. Sage begins to show itself in patches.

Groom, Texas boasts the world’s largest cross. I don’t know much of the story behind this site. Exit 112 on I-40. Around the base of the cross, it is told to me, there are “Stations” or statues of Christ with his cross and the various people and tortures he endured. I’ve not seen it myself so I can’t tell you what it is all about.

Amarillo and lunch at the Big Texan. If you are adventurous and hungry you can try to eat the 72 ounce steak complete with salad, baked potato, shrimp appetizer, and 3 HOT chili peppers. All in one hour. You even get to sit in a place of honor through it all. If you CAN eat it all in the allotted time it is FREE. If, however, your eyes are bigger than your stomach the cost is $72.00.

That hunk of meat is the equivalent of 9 (Nine) 8 ounce steaks. OMG. Makes me sick to think about it!!!

Many have tried. Very few have succeeded.

Dessert? How about 1/4 of a four layer cake!? Good grief that is big enough for 4 people.

There is a Shooting game anyone can play for free. Poker tables are set up to play, also for free. And a ginormous rocking chair to get lost in.

So if you want entertainment value and so so food then the Big Texan is a place to kill a few hours.

Also, west of Amarillo about 5 or 6 miles out of town (maybe less) and off to the south in a field are Cadilacs buried nose first to their windshields. It was too far away for my iPhone or I would have taken a picture of it.

Today was a good day. No problems, wind was blowing but not like a few days ago and we made the miles today. Ending in Albuquerque, New Mexico and still daylight.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

2 responses to “I-40 West to Amarillo, Texas

  • Maureen Mathis

    You guys look just like Edith Ann from Laugh-In! Remember that skit with Lily Tomlin where she rocked herself in a big ol’ chair, or am I the only one old enough to remember that one?!

    • Message In A Fold

      I know, looks strange. When I showed your comment to Joe he said “Who?” I had to remind him of the show. Edith Ann and her “And that’s the truth, phht”. There are quite of few of those characters that are gone. I think Dan Rowan and Dick Martin are both gone. What was his name that used to get hit by Ruth Buzzy all the time with her hand bag when she was dressed as the old lady? He’s gone…Henry somehting. That was a good show. Wonder why it is not in replays?

Leave a Reply

