A Minor Glitch

We left yesterday only to return home.

We got a late start by leaving at 10 a.m., both of us have been pretty tired and are moving slower than usual. The light bar on the back of my truck wasn’t working all the time. I have to have functioning lights on the light bar…brakes, turn signals, and all the lights on when the headlights are working. My light bar was doing some crazy thing of flashing quickly and in a strobing fashion. All the lights quickly winked. Joe saw it and we had to stop to get it checked out.

Joe did his best to remedy the problem. We spent an hour in a truck stop parking lot taking things apart and he walked from one end to the other with his test light thing-a-ma-bob. He thought it was a ground on my light bar that wasn’t working. After he had it all apart and all the wires were tight and connected then he worked his way upwards. The problem was in the truck I was driving.

We had to go back to the Coldiron yard and have one of the mechanics take a look at the truck. He and Joe had an ongoing discussion about where the faulty ground was. The mechanic said it was in our equipment and Joe said it was in the truck. The mechanic guy was poking holes in my electric line with his tester and saying it was my line. Joe told him that he was getting a faulty reading because he was using the truck as a ground.

Okay, all this stuff is way over my head and I’m only repeating what they said. I don’t have a clue what they were talking about.

So….after another three hours and a half the mechanic guy does find the ground wire was broken on the truck at the plug. He did a patch job and my light bar is working fine.

By this time it was nearing 4 p.m. and we would not get very far before dusk came so it made more sense to stay at the “Bockenstette” Motel than some other one we had to pay for. A total of 63 miles driving today in a circle from home to western Oklahoma City and back to home.

While at home and having a few hours to spend before going to bed early, I had some time to get a video uploaded I’ve wanted to do since about the 10th of May. I made a tag for Nancy Nickle and sent it to her before I went on my Oklahoma City to Spartanburg trip. Just didn’t have the time to get it up to YouTube.

Nancy sent me a note that she had received it and loved the charm things I had put on the fibers. I couldn’t remember what I had put on it. I didn’t know what she was talking about even. Lost my mind there for a bit. Watching the video I had made refreshed my memory and now I do know what she was saying. That was well over 5 minutes ago and my memory can be pretty bad. Too much stuff clanging around in my brain.

Okay, it is time to go and try this trip to California all over again. Wonder how far we’ll get today…..?

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “A Minor Glitch

  • Indira

    Hi, Leslie, sorry I haven´t write to you. Things going crazy here, very crazy. Í´m so happy to “hear” from you. I saw you upload other videos, I hope I could watch them, these weekend. Take care, love,

    • Message In A Fold

      Are you and your family alright? I hope by “going crazy” you mean that you are working and doing crafting things and not something bad has happened in your family. Let me know if you need anything or if I can do something – even if it is to just listen.
      Love you – Leslie

  • Nancy

    haha…Oh Leslie!…Yes, I love the charm things you put on the fibers! I’m glad you know it’s you that’s crazy and don’t think it’s me!! lol It will be my turn next time, okay? Happy travels today! Hope you make up for lost time! 🙂

    • Message In A Fold

      I’m so glad you like the tag and the charms. Yes, it is me that is a bit whacko and not you. Now, if you were one of my kids – who are only too aware of my short comings – then you would know that this is a frequent occurrence. Another one of my failings is that I hear well BUT what goes in my ears and boings around in my brain are not the same things. I have very creative hearing – mostly it is just downright embarrassing on my part and hilarious to everyone else. Oh well, it keeps life interesting.

  • Maureen Mathis

    I’m so glad that you got to spend some time at home, although it sounds like Joe had to work really hard that day. I hope you were really sweet to him after all of that frustration. Even though he must be used to it by now, a little TLC can heal a frustrating day. Good luck today on your latest adventure!

    • Message In A Fold

      Yes, I was sweet to him because he is my HERO when it comes to things like this. Now, the frustration….did you mean me and my whining or the frustration with the electrical problems? He had to deal with both of them and he did a fantastic job – as usual. 😉 hahahaha

Leave a Reply

