Preparing To Leave For California

Rudy’s Country Store and Bar-BQ.   I love, love, love their brisket.

I’m not a big fan of barbecue or smoked meats.  They always are tough and they leave an after taste that is awful.  Joe loves barbecue.  I go and pick at the stuff, and grumble a lot about finding a McDonalds when he is through.

About three years ago we were in Pharr (pronounced Far), Texas taking about 16 trucks to Houston to an auction.  We stayed at a Motel 6 while there and the only place to eat within walking distance was a Pancake House (not IHOP) and a Rudy’s.  Joe, as usual, wanted to go to the barbecue place.  Reluctantly I plodded along with him.  Grumbling all the way there.  Mostly because my dinner was going to come out of the vending machine at the hotel after he finished eating.

Wow and double WOW!!!  I’ve not had such good brisket EVER!!!  If you order the Lean brisket it is a bit chewy and dry.  The Moist brisket is so good.  And the smoked sausages are wonderful.  The only problem is they are in Texas.  When I found we have one in Norman then I was thrilled about that.   All the while we were in Pharr moving those trucks I wanted to end the evening at Rudy’s for dinner.  That is rare for me.

Rudy's Bar-BQ

There is one in New Mexico now.  I think by the look of the map it is in Albequerque.

The inside of the building has walls of ribbed sheet metal.  There are long tables that run end to end across the room so seating is plentiful.  It is not fancy.  The napkins are in a paper towel dispenser, the flatware or tableware is plastic spoons, forks, and knives.

The thing they show off are the smokers that are in the back of the kitchen.  Watching them open the lids and take the slabs of meat out to be cut on the steel tables is something to watch – I’m easily entertained anyway.

The "Tray"

Your order is placed in a crate, along with the “plates” which are butcher paper (to the right side folded up).

Rudy’s is a bit more pricey than other barbecue places but it is worth it.  The food is FANTASTIC.

We had to get our barbecue fix before we leave town and don’t know when we will be back here or in Texas so we can do this again.

If you want some really, really, really good brisket (in my opinion) and are traveling through Texas then I suggest you give them a try.  Then let me know what you think.

We got hooked up with our trucks.  Joe was getting trucks out of Oklahoma going to California and I was going to just ride along.  I had plans of getting into the Emergency Kit that Jann had made me.  Wouldn’t you know it?  Someone had to go and change my mind.  They found four trucks so I will be driving.  Oh well, I can save up some money to buy the Letter Press machine I saw a demonstration of while at Creations Galore in Green Bay, Wisconsin.

We had to put fuel in our trucks before we leave town.

Maybe I'll make it to Arizona?

It is going to take a bit over 200 gallons of diesel to get us to California.  If we encounter head winds going west through Texas and New Mexico then we will need to purchase more.  So maybe I have enough to get me to Arizona at least.

This is the fuel amount I put in my truck.  Gulp!  Hey, it is UNDER $3.00 a gallon so this is a bargain.  I hate to think of what the cost of diesel is in Europe.  They go by the liter, I think, and it is way, way more than what we pay here.

Okay, I’ve got to get going.  Won’t get to California if I stay at this crazy machine.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “Preparing To Leave For California

  • Maureen Mathis

    I have a Rudy’s 15 minutes away from me, and an even better place that you’d love in Lockhart, Texas that is about 30 – 40 minutes away. So come on down to San Marcos! I guarantee you that Joe can find some trucks that need to go to/from the southern border of Texas!

    • Message In A Fold

      Hey, another place to eat? As if I need one, but finding good places to eat is half the fun of this job. I’ll let you know when we are headed your way. That would be fun! The name of Lockhart, Texas is not familiar to me so it must be off the beaten path. I’ll have to look that up on my map to see where it is. Must be some where near Austin or San Antonio.

  • Lynn Claridge

    Hi Leslie (& Joe!) Have been keeping up with your blog and enjoying your trip back and forth but have been too ‘whooped’ to leave a comment as I normally blog hop at the end of the day and my days have been very long of late!

    Less than $3 per gallon for diesel!!!!!!!!! You lucky dogs. That is approximately £1.50 GBP. Here we are paying almost that per litre!? Think there would be approx a little over 4 litres to your gallon (US gallon being less than a UK one). No wonder the US is worried about oil running out. Luckily we don’t run a vehicle, DH decided at 70 he had had enough of driving, which is just as well as we couldn’t afford it. We have to buy petrol for our generator though as we generate our own electricity and it is costing us more and more each week as the fuel prices creep up.

    Oh I must stop blathering on otherwise I shall have written a blog for a comment!!
    Thinking of you and working on your ‘project’ in between doing all the other things that need doing.

    Hugs
    Lynn x

    • Message In A Fold

      My goodness!!!! We had a fit when diesel went to nearly $5.00 a gallon. You guys live with that, and then some, on a daily basis. What a burden that is on your household!!! How big of a generator do you have? Those things confound me. Joe knows how they work since he has dealt with electric generators and the electric transformers a lot of his adult life. We have a small one that works when it wants to since it doesn’t get used very often – like once every 8 years. I don’t even remember the last time we used it.

      Does your husband maintain the generator….check it for oil and what ever other parts that need replacing and tweaked, or is it serviced by someone else? I don’t know anything about them, except they can be very noisy. Do you guys have windmill farms in the UK? We’ve got them springing up all over the place in farmers fields. Does it get windy there where you live? We have places, like Wyoming, where the wind constantly blows.

      Have you figured out what you are going to do with your Grandson’s little chest yet? I so can’t wait to see what you do with it for a boy. No pressure just being a Nosy Parker here. Take care of yourself and thanks for popping in and commenting.

      Hugs – Leslie

  • Indira

    I love barbecue and smoked meats, I really love it, but I´m the only one on my house who likes it.

    • Message In A Fold

      You and Joe would have a wonderful time then. He loves it so much that he finds out of the way places all the time to drag me to. I think I’ll let him go with you while I find all the tropical fruits and delights around your house. Sounds good to me 🙂

  • Nancy

    I do love good BBQ!! Yum!! Why do so many of your blog posts make me hungry? lol

    • Message In A Fold

      Food is the only way I remember places. That is why I have a bit of girth on me. The road is one monotonous mile after another the landscape is the only thing that changes. So posts will be food related, or anecdotal 🙂 You know the adage….”misery loves company”…well pull up a chair and grab a fork.

Leave a Reply

