When Did I Miss Memorial Day?

I thought Memorial Day was the last Sunday in May.

Has there been an event sneak up on me that I’m not aware of?  The reason I’m asking is this…

I-70 Western Kansas

We were headed home from McCook, Nebraska.  By this time it was early afternoon, around 2:30 p.m.  I was driving east on I-70 in Kansas…somewhere east of Russell.  At one overpass I saw several people walking on the overpass.  One was carrying a folded American flag.  I wondered about it but was gone before I saw what they were doing.

About 20 miles later, approaching another overpass it was lined with people and flags.  I honked and waved as I neared it and received waves back as I traveled beneath them.

Traveling further another overpass had a smattering of people and just a couple flags.  One woman brought a lawn chair to sit in while she held her flag.  I honked and waved at them also.

By this time I had to question Joe.  When is Memorial Day?  I thought it was the LAST Sunday in May.  Have they gone and changed the date on us?  He looked in his iPhone Calendar app….nothing noted as to what would herald the display of flags.

I-70 Western Kansas

Seeing these flags standing out and waving in the wind we had is quite a sight to see.  I could see them long before I came to the overpass.

There was enough time to get Joe to pause the poker game he was playing on his iPhone to take this picture for me.

After we got off I-70 and onto I-135 headed south through the remainder of Kansas and on into Oklahoma there were no more flags at the overpasses.

This display of patriotism had me choked up a bit.  Do other countries have these spontaneous displays of patriotism?  I have no idea if they do.  I just know that even though our country is going through a rough patch there are still people that are not afraid to display our flag in a setting such as a highway overpass and not be considered a lunatic.

GOD BLESS AMERICA!!!!

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “When Did I Miss Memorial Day?

  • Erin Toner

    Deeply impressed the way you Americans display your national pride without prejudice. If we do the same in England people think you are a member of the BNP (a nasty racist bunch) You fly the flag and be proud!

    • Message In A Fold

      Wow Erin!! So how do your people show their patriotism that is strong throughout your country? We do have a similar thing going on here. In the south there is a flag that takes a lot of heat when it is flown. You’d think I would know what the name of it is but I only know it by sight. It is red background with a white X that spans the whole flag from corner to corner. Since I’m not totally up on the history of the south (shame on me) I don’t understand the controversy. Except it seems that particular flag was once a standard flag of the Ku Klux Klan which still has a toe hold on racism down there. Each of our 50 states have their own flag and this one in the south gets the most controversy.

  • Maureen Mathis

    We had a similar display on several overpasses when the body of a soldier who was killed in action in Iraq was brought into San Marcos from San Antonio for the funeral. So as the procession went under the overpass, the family could see visible signs of support on their way to the services. Others lined the city streets that the motorcade went down, all the way to the funeral home. It was really amazing. Acts like that are not soon forgotten by family members, so maybe that is what you were a part of. Thanks for honking and giving your support, whatever the cause!

    • Message In A Fold

      My husband and I don’t support the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan but we DO support our military people. Each soldier has volunteered to put their life on the line so that we, as American’s, can continue to do foolish and hateful things – as well as the wonderful things we do. They also put their lives on the line for our elected officials so they can continue to work their foolishness and mayhem. Our Military people deserve to be honored, supported, and acknowledged because of their gift to us – in my opinion. This goes for the Military Spouses that remain behind to keep the families whole while the soldier is far away. When we see Military people in restaurants as we travel we pay for their meals – the whole table – as our show of support to them.

      So if this was a display for a fallen soldier then I’m proud to have acknowledged the life that person gave so I can continue to be free.

Leave a Reply

