Update On Oklahoma

I don’t know what all of you know or have heard on the news.  We have not had a chance to listen or watch much.  Our phones have been going crazy with text messages and calls from family and friends.

The destruction is amazing and frightful.  There are two highways that intersect in the south eastern portion of Norman.  US 77 and Oklahoma 9.  US 77 runs north and south, while Oklahoma 9 runs east and west.  At that intersection the overpass is gone.  One of our friends told us the whole structure was shredded by the tornado.

I told about the Love’s Travel Center I wanted to stop at when we first began this trip.  I was freaking out about running out of “gas” and being stuck beside the road.  The Love’s at Choctaw Road, exit 162 on I-40 was where I wanted to stop but Joe wanted to keep going.

According to another friend of ours that had family there said travelers were getting off at that exit and heading for the Love’s for sanctuary.  The workers in the store got everyone in the walk in freezer/refrigerator and closed the doors.  When it was safe to come back out – that refrigerator/freezer was all that was left standing of the store.  The big trucks that were parked in the lot or in the fuel islands were strewn around like some giant child had tired of playing with them and knocked them over.  Cars were in the fields scattered around like huge pieces of litter.

Another friend of ours, and his wife, were on their way to a Coldiron yard to set up a place for the Decking part of this business.  I’ll tell you more about Decking later.  Ed and his wife were caught on the highway in one of the tornadoes and survived it.  Both had glass embedded in their skin from the windows being blown out, but they were spared worse.

My thoughts and prayers go out to all of the people that were involved in this storm.  I can’t help but think there were some that just got their jobs and the money made at the Love’s would have paid for the family’s care.  Now that is gone.  People are dealing with the insurance companies to get their cars replaced.  How many of these people are out of state and just traveling through.  Now left with no way home.

Jann and her husband are suffering about as badly from the flood that went through Nashville.  Say a prayer for them as well when you think about it.  It may seem they were spared the worst of it by not having their house in standing water.  They have had to adjust their working lives by taking advantage of internet access from local coffee shops to do their work – instead of from their offices or home.  Needed documents are not at hand, and the feeling of being a bother to the coffee shop workers makes for some inconvenience.

The reason I could not post my blog yesterday was because of all of the people using whatever means they can to get on the internet in the Nashville area since the cable companies and the phone companies buried lines have been damaged.

Okay, on to other things.  Joe and I got delivered this afternoon.  Everything is all signed for and we will be off to Statesville, North Carolina to get trucks going a short distance to Knoxville, Tennessee.

Big news for me!!!!!  Tomorrow morning at 9:00 local (eastern time) I’m going to be interviewing the people at Scrapbook Creations in Spartanburg, South Carolina.  I’m hoping to get the video posted this weekend.  As of this point we will be in the Knoxville area for the weekend.  Or somewhere around there.  Plans will change come Friday and we will be off to somewhere else.  I don’t make too many plans because of this job being so changeable.  But I’ll do my best.

Time to get some sleep for tomorrow.  Everyone rest well, be safe, and you are all in my prayers.  Good night all.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Update On Oklahoma

  • Indira

    Sorry to hear about all the damage that those tornados make, It`s so difficult when we saw that everything we have, it`s gone, we don`t have here tornados, but sometimes we have a strong storms, that leave us with big damages. I just pray to God to give all the people that suffred with the tornado the strength to get up and continue with their live. Hugs,

    Indira

    • Message In A Fold

      You guys get earthquakes and hurricanes!!!! Yikes!!!! The human spirit amazes me. When most people are knocked down and have lost everything…they manage to get back up and just keep going. There are some that just can’t cope with it and they give up, but mostly people are surrounded by loving family, friends, and strangers that help out. Thank you for your prayers. I appreciate you, Indira.

      Hugs
      Leslie

  • shar

    Saw the devastation on the news and my heart goes out to all thats been affected. Im glad you and the family are safe!!! Love to you all
    shar

    • Message In A Fold

      I’ve seen bits and pieces of it. I contacted “Whole Lotta Scrap” in Norman to see if they were in the track of that tornado. Thank goodness they were not. Everything and everyone is fine and unhurt. Thank you for your kind thoughts. They are appreciated.

      Love to you and yours,
      Leslie

  • Shelly

    Happy to hear about you and Joe Leslie and will be praying for your friend Ed and his wife also.May God grant you safe travels. I will be watching for more updates.

    Love,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Shelly. Our friends have been patched up and are back to work. Sore, walking wounded, and boy do they have a story to tell to anyone that will stand still long enough to hear it. Thank you for your prayers, we appreciate them. How is the “Craft Room” coming along? You getting ready to make videos? Let me know when you post the first one. I want to be able to see it where ever I am.
      Love = Leslie

Leave a Reply

