Meeting Jann In Nashville

Okay, let’s try this again. I wrote about meeting Jann last night (this morning) before I went to bed. Had it all written and hit the “Publish” button at 12:36 a.m. A message of some kind popped up saying the “Server could not be found”. Ack, ack, ack.

Do you remember when you went to school? Had a best friend that rode the bus while you lived close enough to walk? The school year came to an end and summer meant you would not see that friend again forever? Three months can feel like forever sometimes. Then the beginning of the new school year is just a week away and the excitement of seeing your best friend again is palpable? The questions that go through your mind. What do they look like now? Have they changed? Would they still like me?

I’m sure you are wondering why I’m using a school analogy about meeting Jann. This is how I felt, though. I was excited to meet her, giddy in fact, but I was a bit scared also. We’ve become friends through YouTube and I have developed a friendship with her that has created a bond like a best friend.

The initial plans were to meet at 11 a.m. or noon yesterday. With the events of Monday that time frame got pushed back to 2 or 3 in the afternoon. Yesterday we were delayed a bit by Joe’s truck. The 13 speed transmission did not want to go in the high range. He was stuck at 55 to 60 miles an hour instead of 65 to 70 had the splitter worked. That five mile an hour difference, a stop at Walmart in West Memphis, Arkansas for bath soap (I forgot to pack!!!!) and a bit of lunch at Shoney’s so Joe could take his medicine equated to a 4 hour delay.

I kept Jann updated on our whereabouts and the time of arrival. Each hour that grew I began to wonder if Jann was rethinking all this. Wondering if I were a flake and trying to get out of meeting her. When we were getting on the I-440 loop I called to tell her. She and her husband left for the Pilot Travel Center where we had agreed to meet and have dinner at O’Charley’s. A bit later she called me back and said there was a change of plans, instead of O’Charley’s we were going to a place that she and her husband love to go and they would like to take us there. When I told Joe this he suggested we get a room at the Days Inn in Lebanon, Tennessee and just stay for the night. That way we could enjoy our visit and not try to drive late in the night to Knoxville. Woohoo. I called Jann to tell her this bit of news and she said they’d meet us at the Days Inn.

When I saw her I felt like a school girl all over again. Seeing my best friend after the long summer months. In fact, I think we both acted like a couple of teens. Except we didn’t hop up and down in circles squealing. We just squealed and hugged.

I don’t know about Jann’s Royce, but my Joe was going along for the ride. Not sure what I had gotten him into but fairly sure it would be entertaining. I mean what kind of mischief can two women get into?

As soon as Joe got in their vehicle with me, he and Royce came to agreement. We were their guests and that was that. No more to be said.

Jann and Royce introduced us to the “Sauce Sampler” which consisted of about 8-10 small ramekins filled with blackened chicken in Alfredo, a Marinara, a chili sauce, a meat sauce, browner butter, a clam Alfredo, and a couple others.

Dinner was fantastic and the company was delightful.

There was no mention of glitter, flowers, brads, paper or anything during dinner.  Oh, wait…yes there was.  Royce said he had a “bucket of embellishments” to show us.  That was hilarious.  The image conjured up in my head of him raising a bucket brimming with chipboard, brads, flowers, and bling was way too funny.

A couple hours of good food, and lots of talk ended too soon.  It was getting past our bed times and poor Royce looked like he was about ready to put some chairs together and take a much needed nap.

This trip has been fun and rewarding.  Thank you Jann and Royce for your hospitality, time, and friendship.  I appreciate you both for making Joe and I welcome in “Your Neck Of  The Woods”.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

9 responses to “Meeting Jann In Nashville

  • Nancy

    Leslie…this was beautifully written! It was like I was there!! Now that would have been fun!lol Thanks for sharing your evening with me! :o)

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Nancy. Jann and her husband, Royce, were great to be with. We had such a good time. I wasn’t sure what to write about, so I just decided to get the “blab” on. Guess better all than none or sparse. I’d want to know, since I’m basically nosy. I’m off to take a look at your blog now.

  • Indira

    I`m so happy that you enjoy your visit to Jann. It`s to exiting to meet someone that even you talk to her don`t really meet in person. I hope someday we can meet. Take care.

    • Message In A Fold

      Someday…that would be awesome!!! Meet you and talk and laugh with you. Jann and her husband are really nice people. Joe and I felt welcomed by them and like we knew them forever. It was easy companionship and quite a lot of laughing. How are you and your family doing? All are well. And your Mom, she is well also?

  • shar

    I love reading your day to day accounts it feels like Im really there. Thankyou!!! Say Hi to Joe for me and take care my friend.

    Hugs
    Shar

    • Message In A Fold

      Shar, thank you. There is so much that happens and I don’t pay attention to it any longer. The road constantly beckons. Now that I am putting it up on my blog I am seeing it better now. Trying to remember the day, and taking pictures to share where we have been. I’m glad you feel like you are along for the ride too. I told Joe “Hi” from you. He said “Who?” and I told him that he ought to feel special. He’s been told “Hi” from Australia or New Zealand or somewhere outside the US. He just looked at me and shook his head. He can’t quite wrap his brain around the concept of the world in the internet. It is funny sometimes. Hope you and your family are well. Before I forget, Joe says “tell her Hi back”. That is too funny!

      Hugs
      Leslie

  • Jann

    Leslie you described it perfectly. I am still smiling! You and Joe are just a delight.

    I won’t mention anything to Royce about his bucket of embellishments or he is likely to actually bring you one chocked full next time! LOL

    Love you friend. Take Care –Jann

    • Message In A Fold

      I read your comment to Joe. I reminded him of Royce’s comment of the bucket. Now, I have to find a bucket and fill it with embellishments and wrap it in plastic so Joe can carry it around until we see you again. What have we started?!!! Well, it is a whole lot of fun is what it is. Joe and i really enjoyed our time with you and Royce. Thank you again for your hospitality and making us feel welcomed.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

