Thank You Gift From Me

I am so grateful for crafting people.  I have 100+ subscribers to my YouTube channel and I’m grateful for each one of them.

My Thank You Gift To Give Away

I have used the Nouveau Chic paper on the outside covers of this notebook.  It measures about 4-1/2 x 8-1/4 x 1/2.

The inside cover paper is Certainly Celery card stock cut to about 4 x 7-3/4.  The ribbon is 5/8″ Certainly Celery Satin ribbon.

The papers used on the word “Imagine” are Apricot Appeal on the bottom half and a piece of the Nouveau Chic paper on the upper half.  I’ve covered the word in Dazzling Diamonds.  The ribbon on the bind it all piece is 1/4″ Basic Gray Satin ribbon.

The chipboard word is from my local craft/hobby store, as are the two charms.  I’ve used a tacky white glue for all of the assembly of these covers.  I used a much stronger white glue (bookbinding glue) to adhere the word to the book.  This book will get some use and banging.  I sure don’t want the word to fall off quickly.

Inside the notebook/journal

I had made a notebook or memo pad for my husband to carry with  him and do his writing in.  I cut down papers from an 8-1/2 x 11 pad.  The kind you tear the sheet from the top that is stapled on.  Guess they are called “Legal Pads”.  You could  use regular notebook paper for this.

The intention of this book is for the crafter to  have something to write down or draw their inspiration on before they lose the thought and idea.  A message for a card.  A sketch of a card or scrapbook layout.  Also when thinking about scrapbook layouts this could be a place to jot down journal notes and have them in one place instead of on bits of paper scattered everywhere.  Don’t know if everyone else is like me though – bits of paper, envelopes, pieces of cardboard.  Can’t find the note when I  need it.

To watch this all come together here is the link to my YouTube video.  You can see how I covered the front, back, and insides.  What I did to get the two papers together to cover the word.  How I used the Bind It All to get this all put together.

Setting up to put the pressure on

Wax paper in betweenWax paper sandwich

A support piece for the heavy object

Heavy object

After gluing all of these papers to a cardboard piece you will need to put some pressure on it all to flatten it out since the moisture in the glue wants to make the cardboard buckle.  Put it under pressure for about 2 hours.  More if you got heavy handed with the glue.

I have sandwiched wax paper between each layer so any glue that squeezes out in this process doesn’t mess up all the hard work I’ve done.  I have a glass trivet with some rubber feet on the back side.  I turn that so the rubber feet are on top and the pieces below get the all over benefit of even pressure.  Then the heavy object is my cast iron dutch oven roaster.  That is one  heavy pot.

I will be having the drawing on Sunday, March 7, 2010 to give this away to one of my subscribers as a thank you for their loyalty and comments.

I grow and learn each day from their knowledge, and I am also getting better at my craft by watching what they do.  There are some absolutely amazing talent going on at YouTube and I am just so happy to be able to add my bit of knowledge it it.

So, a heart felt thank you goes out to all of my subscribers.  I just wish I could do something for all of them.  I’ll get it done eventually but for now this will be a good start.

Enjoy all your crafting time.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

Leave a Reply

