Petal Card Die

Petal Card Die Cut

Have you purchased the Petal Card die?  Are you wondering what you can do with it now that it is in your home?

When I first purchased this die, it was mainly because I was struck by the way it folds and tucks in on itself to form a self closing envelope.

Once I had it in my home and in my “studio” it sat on a shelf for a long time because I was not sure what to do with it.  I’m not alone in this I’m sure.  Purchasing something then wonder why I did that.

Love Notes to my children and grandchildren

This die got a lot of use last week while I was snowed in.  I took advantage of the storm and the threatened power outages to get my Valentine gifts made and sent to my family.

Each child and grandchild got a special note from me delivered in a mail box stuffed with assorted candies.

I had so much fun creating these gift boxes and notes.  Since I could not get out and around I was forced to concentrate on getting this task completed and in the mail.

It is my main focus to let my children and grandchildren know that I love them.  It is selfish of me, I know, but in the event of my demise I do not want to be on my deathbed and regretting that I did not tell my family I love them and how special they are to me.  My daily life is so full of coming and going and busy doing that I get lost in my world and don’t see past that.

Mailbox, candy, and love note.

I took the time to think about each person and the things that make me laugh or warm my heart because they are in my life.  The cute mail boxes  I made will be stuffed away in a closet somewhere or put in a box out of sight.  The candy will be consumed.  The love note will be lost somewhere in a drawer or box.  The message will remain with them for a long time.  That was the most important part of my Valentine’s gift this year.

The Petal Card die I purchased long ago has finally been put to use.  It took more time to get the paper laid over the die and ready to be cut out than it did to actually cut the shape.  I was so thankful for that die by the time I was finished with the first mail box.  Had I needed to cut out 24 of those note holders by hand I would have given up by the second one and none of this would have been accomplished.

Yesterday I met with a group of Stampin’ Up! demonstrators.  Much to my surprise the discussion was about the Petal Card Die and the many ways to use it.  I have no idea who made what but an assortment of items were displayed on a table.  You can well imagine my delight when I saw the creativity these women have when I saw what they had come up with.

A Treat Holder

A Hanging Basket

A Bookmark

A Basket

A Sucker Holder

Hidden Message On A Card Front

After seeing these creative ideas how can you not be inspired by this single die?

What are your needs?  Do you belong to a book club?  Do you have an avid reader in your family?  This Petal Card die makes the creation of a bookmark easy and personalizing it is just as easy.

Do you have an event coming up that requires a little something for table seating?  The basket made from this Petal Card die can hold candy hearts, jelly beans, or some nuts.  Designer papers used for the theme or color scheme will make these baskets the talk of the neighborhood.

Co-workers or your children’s class mates will be delighted to receive a sucker wrapped in a package you made all the more special.

Have you made cards the same way for so long that you have run out of ideas for card fronts?  Create a hidden message on your next card with the Petal Card die cut just to stir things up.

Has this inspired your creativity?  Pop on over to my Stampin’ Up! website and place your order for the Petal Card die #113467 today.  While you are there add some paper to your order and a rubber stamp.

Sale-A-Bration is still going on.  You  have until March 31, 2010 to take advantage of free stamps, punch, and 6×6 paper with your order of $50.  For every $50 you get to choose one item from the Sale-A-Bration catalog.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

5 responses to “Petal Card Die

  • Gayle Enouen

    love your mailbox idea with the petalcard love notes. What a great coincidence that we used the petal card die at the meeting Saturday to go right along with your project! I was so glad you were able to come and glad you enjoyed it!

  • Jann McCollom

    So happy to find your blog. It looks fabulous! My blog (in progress)is on wordpress too. Now I know someone I can come to with questions.lol Love you mailbox treats to all you sweeties. So cute! How did we know just what you needed inspiration for at the meeting on Saturday? ha ha That was a lucky break. Anyway thanks for sharing your enthusiasm!!!

    • Message In A Fold

      So glad I’m no longer talking to myself, seemed like it anyway. I will be looking for your blog to be up and running so I can see what you are doing. Thank you for your sweet comment. Yes, I had lots of ideas from the meeting on Saturday thank you guys for that. I really enjoyed myself and am looking forward to March.

  • 2010 in review « Foolishness and Mayhem

    […] Petal Card Die February 2010 4 comments […]

Leave a Reply

