Hearts, Candy, and Flowers

Valentine Mailbox Gift

I’ve used Love Sparkles Simply Scrappin kit #113918 for all of the mailboxes I’m sending this year.  The Petal Card die #113467 holds an individual message for each of my children.  Vintage Labels stamp set #119122 from the Sale-A-Bration catalog has been used as a nameplate for each of my children for the message within.  All of the girls I’ve used the circle stamp and all of the boys get the flourished oval.  I’ve punched each of the nameplates out with the Scallop Circle Punch #109043 for the girls and the Large Oval Punch #107305 for the boys.

Taking advantage of this most recent winter storm while being iced in and the internet coming and going I decided to get these mailboxes done while I could do them.

Mailboxes 1 & 2

Getting into my stash of ribbons,  heart dies, and buttons I’ve tried to make each mailbox different while keeping the theme the same.

Some boxes I used my stash of crystal hearts and ovals.  The heart die on these two mailboxes is from Quickcuts.  I love this heart with the open end and the curly que tail.

Mailboxes 3 & 4

Stickers, flowers, and another heart die I have in my stash adorned these two mailboxes.

Trying to make a masculine box from these papers was a bit tricky.  Still don’t think I succeeded in making the left one masculine but it will have to do.

Mailboxes 5 & 6

The paper on the left box, the yellow paper, is the back side of the pink striped paper of all the other mailboxes.

Every mailbox is full of mini candy bars that I purchased from a mega warehouse store.

Each note inside is specific for the child or grandchild and the specific trait they have that is special to me.  I don’t get to tell them as often as I would like to that I love them and why I do so this was my ideal opportunity to do it.  15 individual notes of love from me.

Mailbox Fronts

Looks like most all the mailbox fronts have a lean or tilt to the left.

I still have a couple more to do then they go in the mail in time for Valentine’s Day.

I could have taken the easy road and just made or bought Valentine cards then sent them off.  I had an idea floating around in my head to acknowledge each of my children and grandchildren special traits and quirks that make me adore them.  What better time than Valentine’s Day to do just that.

It is my hope that long after the candy is gone and the mailbox is all but forgotten the note of love I send will remain with my child for a long time to come.  Something tangible for them to know they are special to me and why I love them.  I can give them things that will soon be forgotten and stuffed away in a drawer or a closet.  I wanted to give them the thing I cherish most, a loving message just for them individually.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

Leave a Reply

