Tool Maintenance – Scissors, Paper Trimmers, Punches

In 2002, when I began working with paper, I purchased a Fiskars 12″ Personal Trimmer.  I used it for about three years.

After the first year of use I found the cuts were no longer sharp looking and there were times the blade skipped in certain areas.  I would have to go back over the cut several times before the paper finally separated.  I replaced blades frequently with the same results.  Jagged cuts and some paper tearing.  I got rid of that trimmer because I thought it was faulty.  I bought another one just like it.  Within the year I was experiencing the same problem.  More jagged cuts and paper tearing.

Off to the local craft center for a different type of trimmer this time.  I picked up a rotary trimmer, also from Fiskars.  That purchase was made in 2008.

While in my craft room, during the winter of 2008, I noticed the groove the blade runs in had become impacted with paper fibers.  Taking a closer look at the groove I could see the gunk was mostly at the upper half, from the top end of the groove down to about the 7 inch mark.  Below that the groove was less filled with gunk.  I ran my thumb nail through the groove and noticed that some of the gunk was loosening up and coming out.

With my paper piercing tool, a very sharp implement, I began digging around in the groove to dislodge the accumulated stuff.  By the time I was finished I  had quite an accumulation of some awful looking gunk.  I used some alcohol and a cotton ball to clean up what I had just dug out.  The groove looked to be mostly clear.  There was some stuff way down in the groove, being cautious I decided to just leave it down there.  I did not want to dig further and possibly damage this trimmer.

I found that this made my cuts easier to make and the blade was running better in the groove, not skipping any longer.  Since that time I’ve cleaned the groove out twice more.  I have not replaced the blade since I first purchased the trimmer.

Today’s video on YouTube is about cleaning our scissors, trimmers, and sharpening punches.  I’m sure there are a lot of you that already know how to do this.  My intention was for anyone new to paper crafting to have some knowledge of what to do with these tools since they can be expensive.

We are going to be doing a lot of paper cutting this year so we need the tools to do their job.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

Leave a Reply

