Wait…Don’t Throw That Away! – Personalized Journal

Wait...Don't Throw That Out!

So many people are into recycling.  Some of the items I would just chuck in the trash (or recycling bin) are getting a second look now.  “Would this be useful to me in my tutorials and gifts?”  If it is, I keep it.  If it is not, I DON’T keep it.  I am not an advocate for hoarding.  Clutter can be disastrous to most people.  Me included.

I have a difficult time getting rid of the paper supplies and embellishments I had accumulated  before I even heard about Stampin’ Up!.  So I have quite a bit of STUFF that I’ve held on to over the years thinking I would use it someday.  NONE of the products used in this tutorial are Stampin’ Up! products.  Well….that is not true.  The black ribbon I use as a bookmark is 1/4 inch Black Grosgrain from Stampin’ Up!

Journal From Recycled "Trash"

This journal is 5″ x 7″ with a depth of 1″.  You can make your journal any size you would like.  The math part can be a bit of a challenge, but it is not terribly complicated.  If you want to make an 8-1/2″ x 11″ journal with a 1″ spine and 1/8″ spacing in the spine, the math part would be as follows:

8-1/2 x 2 = 17″

+ 1-1/4″ for the spine (this will leave 1/8″ space on each side of the spine plate)

+ 1″ for the cover paper to be brought over onto the front and back flaps.

You will need paper measuring 19-1/4″.  You will not be able to find paper larger than 12″ just anywhere.  It can be found, but not from Stampin’ Up!

To be able to use 12″ card stock the spine piece will need to be in a different paper.  The math part will be a bit different.

For the main cover pages you will need two pieces of card stock measuring 7-1/2″ x 12″.  The spine piece will be 3-1/4″ x 12″.

Your cardboard pieces will be two 8-1/2″ x 11″ for the front and back and one piece 1″ x 12″ for the spine.

Follow the video in constructing your journal covers at my YouTube channel.  There are many ways of adding the pages.  Spiral bound, sewn signatures, glued signatures, something from the store already bound that you can alter to fit your journal.

This journal is for a young man, friend of our family, that has a sports blog on Yahoo! Sports.  He travels in his work, writes his column, and has quite a bit to say on his subject.  So…..for Christmas I thought I’d make him a medium sized journal he could take with him, or use in his work.

I will be posting a video on how to make the journal pages in the next day or two.  So check back for that.

Be watching after the first of the year for weekly projects using Stampin’ Up! products.  There will be a weekly theme making scrapbook pages, embellishments, books, cards, and who knows what else.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Wait…Don’t Throw That Away! – Personalized Journal

Leave a Reply

