Heat Embossing

Today’s video tutorial is about Heat Embossing.  I had a special request from my daughter for it.   She is new to stamping and I want to make sure that she is armed with proper information when the time comes for her to try this technique.

I once was at her stage and did not have a clue what to do.  My frustration level with bad stamped images put me off stamping for quite a while.  In educating myself with all of the videos out there I learned what to do from my own mistakes.  Let me tell you, there were PLENTY of things that ended up in the trash.

I didn’t even know how to use a Heat Tool.  I learned, first hand, how hot that air is.  I had blisters on my left index finger from the Heat Tool and from touching the freshly heated embossing powder.  There is no where to go to get away from that hot stuff when it is on your fingers and burning.  Ooops, I forgot to mention that tidbit of information.

Persistence, practice, and a dose of “I’m going to figure this out one way or another” is what helped me learn how to stamp properly.  The same applied to Heat Embossing.  And like any good Mom it is my job to keep my child from harms way and make her attempts turn out correct – almost the first time.  I know she will have a learning curve to go through, who hasn’t had one, but it is my hope that it won’t take months for her to get it like it did me.  She’s a sharp cookie and I know she will do fine.

It is also my aim to help any of you that have experienced the let down when you see a stamped image go bad right before your eyes and don’t know why it has happened.

These items are available at my Stampin’ UP! website 24/7 for easy online ordering.

Heat Tool - Product #100005

Heat Tool - Product #100005

The Heat Tool is hand held, plugs into a 110 outlet, the cord is approximately 4 feet long.  It is U/L Approved and comes with a 1 year Manufacturer’s Warranty on workmanship and defects.  360 watts of power and heats up to 572 degrees Fahrenheit (300 degrees Celsius).

Heat Tool Product #100005  Price is $29.95

Embossing Buddy - Product #103083

Embossing Buddy - Product #103083

The Embossing Buddy is a MUST HAVE if you want a clean image after embossing.

This little package of special stuff eliminates static on your paper that causes embossing powder to cling, and it absorbs finger print oils that will also attract embossing powder and ruin your image.  It works on all kinds of papers and other surfaces you emboss on.

The little bag is 3″ x 1-1/2″ and comes in a ziplock pouch for storage.

Embossing Buddy Product #103083  Price is $5.95

Black Stampin' Emboss Powder - Product #109133

Black Stampin' Emboss Powder - Product #109133

Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder comes in a 1/2 ounce container.  You may think that is not much, but it is quite a lot.

After you pour the embossing powder over your image and tap off the excess the remaining powder can be returned to the container for use at a later time.  This is true with any of the other colors of embossing powders that Stampin’ UP! sells.

Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder Product #109133 Price $4.75.

VersaMark Ink Pad - Product #102283

VersaMark Ink Pad - Product #102283

VersaMark Ink Pad is fantastic for Heat Embossing.  The ink stays wet longer to hold all the embossing powder until it is heat set.  There are many other uses for the VersaMark pad which I will show at a later time.

The VersaMark Pad is approximately 3-3/4″ x 2-1/2″.  A refill is also available if your current pad is getting dry.

VersaMark Pad Product #102283 Price $7.50

VersaMark Refill Product #102193 Price $3.95

Powder Pals (set of 3) - Product #102197

Powder Pals (set of 3) - Product #102197

Powder Pals make the Heat Embossing technique a breeze.  There are two trays and a brush for cleanup.

The large tray measures “10 x 14″ x 1″, the small tray measures 6″ x 8″ x 1”.  Each tray has a 1/2″ funnel opening and a stopper to keep embossing powder or glitter from escaping all over your work area.

Powder Pals Product #102197 Price $19.95

Anyone who purchases $50.00 from my Stampin’ UP! website through October 31, 2009 will receive a FREE 1/2 ounce container of Silver Stampin’ Emboss Powder from me.   The Christmas cards you are planning to make this year will be beautiful with the addition of Silver Stampin’ Emboss Powder.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

Leave a Reply

