I’ve Hit A Wall…

This is my second full day home to work on my business.  I look around me and see all the things I need to take care of that are just as important as my business.  Where to begin?

This is not new for me, I just have one additional item tossed in the mix…my home based business.

For the past nine years, as a truck driver, I have had to deal with this very same problem around late fall when I take the winter months off.  Go ahead and make the chicken noises, it is alright.  I don’t do well on ice and snow.  Panic attacks for normal things I can get through.  Having a panic attack and being paralyzed emotionally and physically in the midst of an ice slick road has more consequences than just standing in the middle of my living room and looking around at all of the piles of STUFF that needs to be put away and the mounting paperwork for QuickBooks.

During the working year, truck driving, we would be out for three weeks – generally – and then home for one or two days.  There were times we would be out on the road for three months and see home for one or two overnights during that time.

My usual practice is to buy Christmas presents all year long for family members.  Each time we get home I take these items in and just plop them down in a spot in my living room.  All the paperwork involved in the business gets dumped in the area around my computer desk.  My  husband is an avid reader so all of the books he has read during the time we’ve been gone are stacked haphazardly on our bookshelves.  There is no more room for them to be neatly placed in the bookshelves with their spines showing.  There are books on top of books.

The accumulated mail is piled on the kitchen table, only the bills that need immediate attention are opened and dealt with.

Dust is everywhere.  Boxes, bags, crates, and piles are everywhere there is an available space leaving room to walk through the house.

Everything needs to be tended to….so I hit a wall.  Where to start?

In the past, I would know the time limit of being home before I had to go back to work so I would make a schedule of time slots.  Before, the main item was the paperwork involved in the trucking business.  That had the highest priority (and still does) because of taxes and bookkeeping.  The next item was housekeeping with a time slot.  Then there was all the mail in bags or piles on the table or other flat surface to go through.  It was not uncommon to spend one whole day shredding and tossing.  Computer time for balancing the checkbooks had to have a separate time slot because that could take a few days.

Now I’ve added a home based business into the mix.  I need to schedule time for filming my creations, getting them edited, and uploaded.  My craft room is a complete mess and that needs to be sorted out and cleaned up also.

This morning as I was sipping my first cup of coffee, glancing around at the mess my house is in, I felt as though I was surrounded by a pack of little yapping dogs.  All of them barking at me and jumping on  me for attention.

I guess it is time to get the Flylady timer out, determine a daily schedule, and get after it.  It has worked every year I’ve been doing this wreck-lamation and will work again.

So, as a wise woman I recently heard say (Raven Blair Davis) “Step away from the computer”.  I think I’ll take her advice.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

Leave a Reply

