Crafting For The Holidays

Where has this year gone?  Labor Day is here, next will be Halloween.

Have you gone into the stores lately?  As if we are not panicked enough and being spurred on to make those purchases for Christmas the store shelves and displays are already bursting with holiday items.

Colorful costumes for Halloween are hung on racks or stacked in brightly colored boxes with graphics that fairly scream from their perches as you walk past.  Talk about screaming at you, how about those mechanical gizmos that laugh and move as you walk past.  Unsuspecting shoppers do a bit of a dance, or whoop with fright, when those automated monsters sound off or move.  I admit it, I’ve been known to laugh as I watch the reactions of strangers when the aisle is quiet and they are intent on their shopping only to have something move at them or cackle.  It happened to me and boy did I feel foolish for jumping and whooping at the harmless object.

Through the past months I’ve concentrated on birthdays and anniversaries.  Not giving much thought to Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.  Now there are blatant reminders of the upcoming events everywhere.  Fall colors of table linens, dishware, and Thanksgiving decorations are just around the aisle from the Halloween items.  There are whole rooms or sections of the stores displaying beautiful Christmas trees, shelves chock full of ornaments, and bins full of wrapping papers and bows.

I don’t know about you, but I’m beginning to feel a bit stressed.  Time is running out.  I don’t have a gift for this person or that person.  I’ve started making gifts for some family members and they are half finished on shelves in cupboards awaiting my attention.

To further complicate matters for me I am right in the middle of getting a new business started.  Time and pressure are my companions these days.

A few years ago there was a television commercial of a young mother with a headache.  While she massaged her head the telephone rang loudly, a toddler was crying from the highchair, the doorbell was ringing, older children were running through the house, pots were boiling over on the stove, and I don’t remember what else was going on.  I felt sorry for that young woman and the pressure she was under.

I don’t have a headache, but I do have a bunch of things clamoring for my attention.  I have my lists and I am getting things checked off one at a time.  Will I have everything done come October 1st when I’m ready to get this business going?  There is no telling but I will have a good start.

Watch for the Halloween cards and candy items coming the first week of October.  We’ll deal with Thanksgiving and Christmas next.  One holiday at a time…

Show someone how special they are….

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

Leave a Reply

