Purchased items from Love’s truck stop

During the long deadhead ride back from Las Vegas, Nevada to Red Bluff, California (780 miles) I often have the chance to watch a crafting video. At least when I’m not driving.

Love’s truck stops have all the touristy items like post cards, T-Shirts, some toys, and a few other items. In their jewelry displays I’ve recently stopped and taken a closer look at what is proffered.

I’ve picked these out in Tehachape and Corning.

20110721-085228.jpg

Charms, beaded corsage pins, and flower centers are what I’m thinking to use these necklaces for.

At Pea Soup Andersen’s in Gustine, California I came across this purse holder. Once in a while we are seated at a table with two chairs. No place to put my purse except on the floor. I kick it, the server trips over it, Joe puts a foot in it trying to stretch his legs.

20110721-090109.jpg

So far it has held this monster pharmacy and junk tote without tipping the table over. I have two concerns with this purse hanger.

1. Spilled food or drinks will find a convenient place to land, and

2. It is pretty much out of sight and out of mind. Dip wad that I am my purse could be left behind.

Other purchases have been water and Gatorade to keep hydrated in this horrible heat.

20110721-091738.jpg

20110721-091803.jpg

One final item. I am fascinated with wall clocks. Have been since grade school and the huge clocks that were hung in classrooms.

This clock is at the Cozy Diner in Red Bluff, California. One of the servers said it can be purchased at the discount store Ross if anyone is interested.

20110721-092257.jpg

It is time to get on the road. At least it is what I’m hearing from my Honey Bunny. Guess I better stop and get going. Hope you all have a fantastic day.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

2 responses to “Purchased items from Love’s truck stop

  • gardenpinks

    Those necklaces are beautiful, especially the blue one. I’d wear them as they are and buy beads for charms and pins :)
    The clock! Oh that is great. I like clocks too so long as they aren’t too noisy reminding me that time is passing :) Ruth bought me a lovely bedroom clock for my brithday a couple of years ago but after the first night I had to take the battery out! I couldn’t stand listening to time passing LOL

    This heat must be costing you a fortune in cold drinks but it is the only sensible thing to do. Keep hydrating!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Oh to be able to wear jewelry. I can….the expensive stuff. The costume jewelry, like these, have nickel in them and I get weeping welts that itch and burn on contact with my skin. Even the “hypoallergenic” kind gives me trouble.

      So these will not be wasted. I may not be able to wear them but I can surely give them a new place to live.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

